CFAR Advisory Boards

The External and Internal Advisory Boards are the major advisory groups that provide scientific and administrative input on our Center's progress as well as peer-reviewed measurements of development and programmatic goals.

External Advisory Board (EAB) Members

Michael Carey, Director, Centers for Behavioral and Preventive Medicine, Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Brown University School of Medicine

Richard D'Aquila, Director, Vanderbilt AIDS Center, Director, Infectious Disease Division, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

James Hoxie, Director, Penn CFAR, Professor of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Jim Neaton, PI, International Network for Strategic Initiatives in Global HIV Trials (INSIGHT) Professor, Biostatistics, University of Minnesota

Kent Weinhold, Director, Duke CFAR, Professor and Chief, Division of Surgical Sciences, Duke University Medical Center

Internal Advisory Board (IAB) Members

Nancy Bennett, Director, Center for Community Health, Professor, Department of Medicine

Harriet Kitzman, Senior Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing, Director, Center for Research Implementation and Translation

Thomas Pearson, PI and Director, UR Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences

Dave Topham, Vice Provost & Executive Director, Health Sciences Center for Computational Innovation, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, CVBI

John Treanor, Chief, Infectious Disease Division, Department of Medicine

Recent Events

2013 World AIDS Day

In honor of World AIDS Day the CFAR hosted a scientific symposium featuring talks from prestigious experts in the AIDS community and research posters from students and post doctoral associates training at the UR.

Congratulations to this year's poster award recipients!
*David Griffith, Departments of Internal Medicine/Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine
*Meera Singh, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
*John DiMaio, Department of Chemistry
*Katherine Thomas, Department of Psychiatry
*Christopher Nishimura, Department of Microbiology and Immunology