Center for Community Health

Our Faculty Group

The Faculty Group of the Center for Community Health at the University of Rochester Medical Center was created in 2006 and is comprised of 62 faculty and staff who have a strong interest in promoting community health improvement efforts. Twenty-four faculty have secondary appointments in the Center for Community Health. Members come from a variety of departments and work together to promote the community health mission of the University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC).

In the past five years, the Faculty Group has accomplished the following:

  • Oversees the development of Departmental Community Service Plans in all URMC departments
  • Developed the annual Dr. David Satcher Community Health Improvement Awards to increase professional recognition for exemplary community engaged work.
  • Launched the “Project Rochester “Community Orientation Series to enhance the professional development of all faculty and staff about the history of our community, current community health and social issues, and options for community engagement. Read more about Project Rochester
  • Created the Community Health Mini-Grant Program to help enhance university-community partnership work by funding meeting expenses, food for focus groups, transportation, etc. Learn more about the Community Health Mini-Grant Program

The following subcommittees were created to inform the future work and priorities of the Faculty Group:

  • Faculty and Staff Development for Community Engagement – Theresa Green, Chair
  • Policy and Advocacy –Stephen Cook, M.D., M.P.H., Katrina Korfmacher, Ph.D.
  • URMC Community Engagement Evaluation – Peter Szilagyi, M.D., Chair

The Faculty Group generally meets quarterly, and faculty and staff are invited to join by contacting Donna Drews at (585) 224-3050, or email at For specific information regarding the subcommittees, please contact Gail Newton at (585) 224-3057 or email at