New URSMD Diversity Award Established

Jonathan Mink, MD, PhDKevin Fiscella, MD, MPHDiversity, inclusion and multiculturalism are critical to the vitality and success of a thriving medical school community. Established in 2013, the URSMD Faculty Diversity Award recognizes the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of medical school faculty to fostering a diverse and inclusive medical school community. Recipients demonstrate this commitment through leadership in recruitment and retention efforts, teaching, mentoring, research, multi-cultural programming, cultural competency, community outreach activities and /or other initiatives.

This year's recipients, Kevin Fiscella, MD, MPH, and Jonathan Mink, MD, PhD, were honored at the 2013 Convocation on September 12.

Presidential Diversity Awardees for 2012-2013 Announced

Two Presidential Diversity Awards came to the University of Rochester Medical Center this year. Lynn Maquate, PhD won the award for her work with Graduate Women in Medicine and the URMC Teen Health and Success Partnership (led by Dr. Suzanne Piotrowski) won for their excellent program. The medical center also had three other nominees -- Child Neurology led by Jonathan Mink, the AIDS Clinical Trials Unit, and Harold Smith, PhD.

Other News

News that is of interest but is no longer current can be accessed at the Archived News page.