Students

Overview of Graduate Education in Toxicology at Rochester

Over 160 students have earned the doctorate and about 30 are generally in residence. By the time they have graduated, students will typically have published several articles and have also become skilled at presenting their research finding to others. Our graduate training is broad enough to qualify students for a wide variety of careers. Some graduates choose to pursue academic careers, engaging in research and teaching at universities and colleges. Many do postdoctoral research before choosing their career.

Others work at research institutes and governmental agencies such as the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Institutes of Health, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Consumer Products Safety Commission. Many are now in industry, particularly at chemical and pharmaceutical companies such as Dow Chemical, Johnson & Johnson, General Mills, Abbott Laboratories, and GlaxoSmithKline. Occasionally a graduating student will choose to attend law or medical school, or combine their toxicology with veterinary medicine or pharmaceutical science.

2008 Entering Class

sgorman Sadie Gorman
Union College, B.S. 2008
Sadie_Gorman@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Patricia Hinkle, Ph.D.
bwinans Bethany Winans
University of Pittsburgh, B.S. 2002
Bethany_Winans@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: B Paige Lawrence, Ph.D.

2009 Entering Class

jbennett John (Allen) Bennett
Western Carolina University, B.S. 2008
JohnA_bennett@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Tom Gasiewicz, Ph.D.
agreminger Allison Greminger
Cedar Crest College, B.S. 2009
Allison_greminger@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Margot Mayer-Pröschel, Ph.D.
agreminger Katherine Ringo
Stanford University, B.S. 2008 
Katherine_ringo@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisors: David Dean, Ph.D. and Jennifer Young, Ph.D.

2010 Entering Class

sbegolly Sage Begolly
University of Delaware, B.A. 2010 
Sage_begolly@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Kerry O’Banion, M.D., Ph.D.
acroasdell Amanda Croasdell 
Utah State University, B.S. 2010 
Amanda_croasdell@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisors: Drs. Richard Phipps and Patricia Sime
krahmani Khatera Rahmani 
Brooklyn College, B.S. 2009
Khatera_rahmani@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: David Dean, Ph.D.
eresseguie Emily Resseguie
Calvin College, B.S. 2010 
Emily_resseguie@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Michael O’Reilly, Ph.D.

2011 Entering Class

cmmcarthy Claire McCarthy
Hiram College, B.A. 2011
Claire_McCarthy@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Patricia Sime, MD.
mrudy Michael Rudy
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, B.S. 2010 
Michael_Rudy@urmc.rochester.edu

2012 Entering Class

pduffney Parker Duffney
Geneseo College, B.S. 2012 
Parker_Duffney@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisors: Drs. Patricia Sime and Richard Phipps
jjudge Jennifer Judge
SUNY Cortland, B.S. 2010 
Jennifer_Judge@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Patricia Sime, M.D.
cklocke Carolyn Klocke
Boise St. Univ. B.S. 2012 
Carolyn_Klocke@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Lisa Opanashuk, Ph.D.
jmeyers Jessica Meyers
University of Pittsburgh B.S. 2009 
Jessica_Meyers@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: B. Paige Lawrence, Ph.D.
lprince Lisa Prince
Juniata College B.S. 2010 
Lisa_Prince@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Matthew Rand, Ph.D.
ewong Elissa Wong
Swarthmore College B.A. 2012 
Elissa_Wong@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Ania Majewska, Ph.D.

2013 Entering Class

tbeach Tyler Beach
SUNY Coll Env. Sci & Forestry, Syracuse B.S. 1995; M.S. 2002
Tyler_Beach@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: TBD
dherr Denise Herr
Duquesne Univ, Pittsburgh, B.S. 2012; M.S. 2013 
Denise_Herr@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: TBD
bpalmer Brian Palmer
St. Lawrence Univ. B.S. 2010 
Brian_Palmer@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: TBD
tpost Christina Post
Univ. of Massachusetts, Boston, B.S. 2009 
Christina_Post@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: TBD

Postdoctoral Fellows

About 10 postdoctoral fellows are usually in residence. They are distributed broadly among the research programs and are supported either by our NIEHS training grant or by faculty research grants. Please contact individual faculty members or Dr. Paige Lawrence , the Program Director, to learn about current postdoctoral training opportunities.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Tanveer Ahmed, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2013; CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi
Tanveer_Ahmed@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Irfan Rahman, Ph.D.

Lidza Kalifa, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2011; University of Rochester
Lidza_Kalifa@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Michael O’Reilly, Ph.D.

Chad Lerner, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2013; Drexel College of Medicine
Chad_Lerner@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Irfan Rahman, Ph.D.

Sara Montgomery, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2013; University of Rochester
Sara_Montgomery@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Matthew Rand, Ph.D.

Emma Reilly, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2012; Brown University
Emma_Reilly@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: B. Paige Lawrence, Ph.D.

Isaac K. Sundar, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2007; Pondicherry University
Isaac_Sundar@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Irfan Rahman, Ph.D.

Marissa Soboleski Terry, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2012; University of Michigan
Marissa_Terry@urmc.rochester
Advisor: Deborah Cory-Slechta, Ph.D.

Zeenath Unnisa, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2006; Hyderabad, India
Zeenath_Unnisa@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Thomas A. Gasiewicz, Ph.D.

Hiromi Ishitobi Weston, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2006; University of Tokyo, Japan
Hiromi_Ishitobi@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Deborah Cory-Slechta, Ph.D.

Megan Wood, Ph.D.
Ph.D. 2009; University of Iowa
Megan_Wood@urmc.rochester.edu
Advisor: Richard Phipps, Ph.D.

Apply Now!

For more information and details on how to apply please visit the Office for Graduate Education and Postdoctoral Affairs.