Imaging Sciences

Former Ph.D. Students

Michael Nichols, Ph.D. 1996 Thesis title,  "Transport of Oxygen and Light in Model Tumor Systems"
Current position:
Professor of Physics
Creighton University
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
mnichols@creighton.edu [Creighton][Mike's Page]
Irene Georgakoudi, Ph.D. 1998 Thesis title, "Effects of Photosensitizer Bleaching and Localization on Photodynamic Oxygen Consumption and Dosimetry"
Current position:
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Tufts University
4 Colby Street, Rm. 153
Medford, MA 02155
Irene.Georgakoudi@tufts.edu [Irene's Page]
Edward Hull, Ph.D. 1999 Thesis title, "Spectroscopy and Characterization of Turbid Media within the Diffusion and P3 Approximations"
Current position:
Principal Scientist
VeraLight, Inc.
800 Bradbury SE, Suite 217
Albuquerque, NM 87106
Ed.Hull@veralight.com [VeraLight]
John Larkin, Ph.D. 2000 Thesis title, "Optical and Photodynamic Properties of the Upper-Lying States of Rose Bengal"
Current position:
Associate Professor of Physics
Whitworth College
300 W Hawthorne Road
MS 3901
Spokane, WA 99251
jlarkin@whitworth.edu [John's Page]
Jarod C. Finlay, Ph.D. 2003 Thesis title, "Reflectance and Fluorescence Spectroscopies in Photodynamic Therapy"
Current position:
Assistant Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
University of Pennsylvania
3400 Spruce Street / 2 Donner
Philadelphia, PA 19104
finlay@xrt.upenn.edu
Soumya Mitra, Ph.D. 2004 Thesis title, "Photodynamic Therapy: Biophysical Mechanisms and Molecular Responses"
Current position:
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Imaging Sciences
University of Rochester
601 Elmwood Avenue, Box 648
Rochester, NY 14642
soumya_mitra@urmc.rochester.edu
Chad E. Bigelow, Ph.D. 2005 Thesis title, "Biological Applications of Confocal Fluorescence Polarization Microscopy"
Current position:
Investigator
Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
500 Technology Square
Cambridge, MA 02139
chad.bigelow@novartis.com [Novartis]
Jeremy D. Wilson, Ph.D. 2007 Thesis title, "Measurements and Interpretations of Light Scattering from Intact Biological Cells"
Current position:
Associate
Kirkland & Ellis, LLP
New York, NY
wilson.jeremy.d@gmail.com
Ken Kang-Hsin Wang, PhD, 2008

Thesis title, "Photodynamic Therapy: Theoretical and Experimental Approaches to Dosimetry"
Current position:
Medical Physicist
Department of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
kwang27@jhmi.edu

William J. Cottrell, PhD, 2008 Thesis title, "Imaging, Scattering, and Spectroscopic Systems for Biomedical Optics: Tools for Bench Top and Clinical Application"
Current position:
Senior Physics Engineer
Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems
Tewksbury, MA
William_Cottrell@raytheon.com
Timothy Baran, PhD, 2013 Thesis title, "Optical Dosimetry and Treatment Planning for Photodynamic Therapy"
Current position:
Instructor
Department of Imaging Sciences
University of Rochester
601 Elmwood Avenue, Box 648
Rochester, NY 14642
timothy.baran@rochester.edu

 

Contact

Thomas Foster
University of Rochester Medical Center
School of Medicine and Dentistry
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Rochester, NY 14642