Distinguished PhD Alumni in Microbiology and Immunology

Name Year Ph.D.
Current Position
Paul Bleicher, MD, PhD 1983 Founder & Chairman
Phase Forward, Inc.
Waltham, MA
Robert A. Burne, PhD 1987 Professor & Chair, Oral Biology
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL
Jean Cardinale, PhD 2000 Associate Professor of Biology
Alfred University
Alfred, NY
Aida Casiano-Colón, PhD 1990 Microbiology Clinical Director
Integrated Regional Laboratories
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Michael Centrella, PhD 1978 Professor of Plastic Surgery
Yale University
New Haven, CT
Virginia L. Clark, PhD 1977 Associate Professor of
Microbiology & Immunology
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY
John F. Dipersio, MD, PhD 1980 Lewis T. & Rosalind B. Apple
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Medical Oncology Section
Professor of Pediatrics & Pathology
Deputy Director,
Siteman Cancer Center
Mildred Donlon, PhD 1974 Program Manager,
Defense Sciences Office,
Defense Advanced Research Projects (DARPA)
Arlington, VA
Connie Erickson-Miller, PhD 1989 Director
Oncology Translational Research
GlaxoSmithKline Research & Development
Collegeville, PA
Stephen Farrand, PhD 1973 Professor of Microbiology and Plant Pathology
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL
Eric Fedyk, PhD 1983 Professor
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Michael Gambello, MD, PhD 1993 Assistant Professor
Department of Pediatrics
Division of Genetics
University of Texas-Houston Medical School
Caroline A. Genco, PhD 1987 Professor of Medicine and Microbiology
Boston University
Boston, MA
Suryaram Gummuluru, PhD 1997 Assistant Professor of Microbiology
Boston University
Boston MA
Julia Lea Greenstein, PhD 1981 President
Life Science Advisors
West Newton, MA
Laura Haynes, PhD 1992 Associate Member
Trudeau Institute
Saranac Lake, NY
Peter K. Hocknell, PhD 2002 Senior Scientist, Discovery Research
Adnexus Therapeutics, Inc.
Waltham, MA
Shekema A. Hodge, PhD 1999 Manager, Global Clinical Immunology
Sanofi Pasteur
Swiftwater, PA
Matthew Hoffman, PhD 1993 Investigator and Chief
Matrix and Morphogenesis Unit
Bethesda, MD
James W. Jacobberger, PhD 1983 Professor
Division of General Medical Sciences
Case Western
Cleveland, OH
Luc F. Joseph, MD, PhD 1996 Instructor in Pediatrics
Boston, MA
Daniel Keller, PhD 1980 Founder and President
Keller Broadcasting
Glenside, PA
Kenneth Klimpel, PhD 1988 Global Director - Innovation
Piscataway, NJ
Wendi L. Kuhnert, PhD 1999 Chief, Hepatitis Reference Lab
Acting Deputy Director, Laboratory Branch
Division of Viral Hepatitis
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA
Philip Matsumura, PhD 1975 Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Bacteriology
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL
Alexander J. McAdam, MD, PhD 1993 Assistant Professor of Pathology
Boston, MA
Thomas L. McCarthy, PhD 1981 Associate Professor
Department of Surgery
Yale University
New Haven, CT
Jan A. Moynihan, PhD 1984 The George L. Engel Professor of Psychiatry
The Institute in Psychiatric and Behavioral Sciences
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY
James M. Musser, MD, PhD 1988 Co-Director and Executive Vice President
The Fondren Foundation
Distinguished Endowed Chair
The Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Houston, TX
Martin S. Pavelka, Jr., PhD 1994 Associate Professor of
Microbiology and Immunology
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY
Aaron Proweller, MD, PhD 1997 Assistant Professor
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH
Diana Ramirez-Bergeron, PhD 1997 Assistant Professor of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, Ohio
Robert C Rose, PhD 1994 Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY
Barbara B. Rundell, PhD 1979 Professor of Biology, College of DuPage
Glen Ellyn, IL
Andrew M. Scala, PhD 1977 Professor and Department Head
Allied Health and Biological Sciences Department
Dutchess Community College
Poughkeepsie, NY
Gregory Sempowski, PhD 1997 Associate Professor, Department of Medicine and Pathology Director, Laboratory of T-Cell Biology and Immune Reconstitution
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
Anthony Sinai, PhD 1994 Associate Professor
Dept of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics
University of Kentucky
Stitaya Sirisinha, PhD 1965 Professor
Mahidol Universtiy
Daniel, Stein, PhD 1981 Professor
University of Maryland
College Park, MD
Claudia C. Stewart, PhD 1979 Vice President for Technology Commercialization
Georgetown University
Washington, DC
Scott Sutton, PhD 1987 Sr. Director, Microbiology Services at Vectech Pharmaceutical Consultants
President, Pharmaceutical Microbiology Forum
Owner, The Microbiology Network, Inc.
Rochester, NY
Fred C. Tenover, PhD 1981 Senior Director, Scientific Affairs
Cepheid Inc.
Sunnyvale, CA
Stephen R. Thom, MD, PhD 1981 Professor of Emergency Medicine, Chief Hyperbaric Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
David L. Watkins, PhD 1985 Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI
Theresa Westbay, PhD 1984 Chair, Department of Biology
St John Fisher College
Rochester, NY
Thomas Westbrook, PhD 2003 Assistant Professor
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
Katharine Whartenby, PhD 1992 Assistant Professor of Oncology
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Mary Jo Wick, PhD 1990 Professor, The Sahlgrenska Academy at University of Gothenburg
Department of Microbiology and Immunology and The Mucosal Immunobiology and Vaccine Center (MIVAC)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Terry Wright, PhD 1995 Associate Professor
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY