Geriatrics & Aging

Geriatric Academic Career Awards

The GACA Program was established in 1998 by the Health Resources and Service Administration (HRSA) ( The purpose of the Geriatric Academic Career Award is to increase the number of junior faculty at accredited schools of allopathic and osteopathic medicine and to promote the development of their careers as academic geriatricians who emphasize training in clinical geriatrics including the training of interdisciplinary teams of health professionals.

This mentored award provides a financial incentive for junior faculty to pursue an academic career in geriatrics. The individuals agree to serve as faculty members by providing teaching services for the life of the5 year award. GACA awardees interact and learn from other clinician educators locally and nationally and obtain the necessary pedagogical skills to achieve their career goals in education. Their specific educational and research initiatives result in presentations, publications and involvement in national professional societies.

The Division of Geriatrics & Aging at The University of Rochester, has several faculty who have received Geriatric Academic Career Awards.

Current Faculty Awards: Thomas Caprio, MD; Suzanne Gillespie, MD

Previous Recipients: Nancy S. Clark, MD; Brian Heppard, MD; C. Michael Henderson, MD; Annette Medina-Walpole, MD; Dallas Nelson, MD

Links of Interest

American Medical Directors Association (AMDA)

The American Geriatrics Society (AGS)

State Society on Aging of New York (SSANY)

VA Healthcare Network Upstate NY - VISN 2

Get In Touch

Division of Geriatrics & Aging
Phone: (585) 760-6352

Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program
Phone: (585) 760-6353

Click Here to get more information