UR Names Kohn Senior Teaching Fellows for 2000-2001

June 21, 2000

Eight University of Rochester Medical Center faculty members have been named Lawrence A. Kohn Senior Teaching Fellows for the 2000-2001 academic year.

Margaret Bergin, M.D., Robert Kerper, M.D., and Robert Leschingski, M.D., all of Strong Memorial Hospital of the University of Rochester Medical Center, and Joseph Kurnath, M.D., of The Genesee Hospital, were re-appointed Lawrence A. Kohn Senior Teaching Fellows by Bradford C. Berk, M.D., Ph.D., chair of the Department of Medicine. Appointed for the first time were Wallace Johnson, M.D., and Joseph Gomez, M.D., both of Strong Memorial Hospital, Bilal Ahmed, M.D., of Highland Hospital, and Steven Scofield, M.D., of ViaHealth.

Dr. Lawrence Kohn was appointed in 1925 as the first Chief Resident in Medicine at Strong Memorial Hospital, and the first Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. Lawrence Kohn Fellowships were established in 1966 through the generosity of the late Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert J.C. McCurdy. Each carries with it a cash stipend to enable physicians in practice in the community to devote more time to teaching at the medical school.

For Media Inquiries:
Karin Christensen
(585) 275-1311
Email Karin Christensen