UR Pharmacology Chair Appointed to FDA Science Board

May 08, 2000

Marion W. Anders, D.V.M., Ph.D., has been invited to serve a two-year term on the Science Board to the Food and Drug Administration. Anders is Lewis Pratt Ross Professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Physiology at the University of Rochester.

The 12-member Science Board advises the FDA commissioner on technically complex scientific issues of regulatory importance. It consists of senior scientists with exceptionally accomplished backgrounds in evolving areas of new scientific research. Board members are knowledgeable in the fields of chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical research and other scientific disciplines.

In addition to his administrative responsibilities at the University of Rochester, Anders teaches medical students and mentors students working on Ph.D. theses as well as postdoctoral trainees. His current research program, supported by the National Institutes of Health and private funds, is focused on chlorinated and fluorinated chemicals used in consumer products.

Prior to this appointment, Anders chaired the Science Advisory Board of the National Center for Toxicological Research of the FDA for four years and brings that insight to his new role on the Science Board.

For Media Inquiries:
Lori Barrette
(585) 275-1310
Email Lori Barrette