Seven Honored with URMC Chairman's Quality Award of Excellence

February 03, 2000

During the annual meeting of the University of Rochester Medical Center Board, chairman Robert H. Gutkin presented the third annual Chairman's Quality Awards of Excellence to seven URMC employees whose professional and personal standards exemplify quality patient care.

Daniel H. Ryan, M.D., professor in the Department of Pathology and Lab Medicine, and director of Strong's Clinical Laboratories, was honored for his enthusiasm, his leadership qualities, and for his role in improving the communication of lab results to primary care physicians.

Her meticulous attention to detail and her ability to meet challenges while overseeing the cataloguing of millions of x-rays each year, is what earned Linda Wood, lead film librarian of long-term storage in the Department of Radiology, this year's award.

Joseph J. Scibetta, M.D., clinical professor on the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was recognized for his decades-long care of patients in a compassionate, dedicated, and humanistic manner. Patients and colleagues alike rank him among the best clinicians in the country.

Sincere dedication to her patients and their families, along with the implementation of a new family support group, is what earned Bonnie Strollo, M.S., Ed., R.N., N.C.C., nurse leader in the Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Unit, this year's award.

A three person team of Medicaid Outreach Coordinators - Barbara Marr, Melody Bogdon, and J. Demitrius Robinson - were honored for their tireless role in linking patients and their families with the resources they need to cover medical expenses.

For Media Inquiries:
Public Relations Department
(585) 275-3676
Email Public Relations