Dr. Jules Cohen Receives the Albert David Kaiser Medal 8 UR Faculty Members Recognized by Rochester Academy of Medicine

July 07, 1999

Jules Cohen, M.D., professor of medicine (cardiology) and former senior associate dean for medical education at the University of Rochester Medical Center, was recently honored with the Albert David Kaiser Medal by the Rochester Academy of Medicine.

The honor, the Academy's highest, was awarded to Cohen for his distinguished service in the field of medicine, public health and community welfare. The honor was initiated in 1939 to recognize the work of Rochester pediatrician Albert David Kaiser, M.D.

Cohen's recent scholarly work focuses on medical education and its outcomes, determinants of institutional education change, and public policy related to undergraduate and graduate medical education. His current work in cardiology relates principally to clinical service. Research funded by the National Institutes of Health has involved studies of cardiomyopathy, the role of endocrine factors in control of cardiac protein synthesis and development of cardiac hypertrophy, and the influence of hemoglobin function on oxygen transport.

Nine other University of Rochester Medical Center faculty members also were recognized by the Academy. The Kluge Trauma and Emergency Medical Services Award was presented to Gregory P. Conners, M.D., assistant professor, Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics; the Rochester Academy of Medicine OB/GYN Section Award, to Eugene P. Toy, M.D., chief resident, Obstetrics and Gynecology; the Rochester Surgical Society Award, to Howard T. Wang, M.D., general surgery resident in the Department of Surgery.

Receiving Awards of Merit were: John Baum, M.D., professor emeritus, Immunology and Rheumatology; John J. Condemi, M.D., clinical professor, Immunology and Rheumatology; Thomas K. McInerny, M.D., clinical professor, associate chair for clinical affairs in the Department of Pediatrics; Nagendra Nadaraja, M.D., clinical associate professor, Department of Surgery, and chairman of the Department of Surgery at Unity Health System.

Also recognized were medical students Anthony Mollano and Dmitriy Niyazov, who received an Academy of Medicine Award, and medical student Marni L. Fruchtman, who received the Academy of Medicine Internal Medicine Award.

For Media Inquiries:
Karin Christensen
(585) 275-1311
Email Karin Christensen