University of Rochester's School of Nursing Honors Faculty Members

June 13, 1997

Five faculty members from the University of Rochester's School of Nursing were recently recognized for their outstanding contributions to nursing education during the school's 11th Annual Faculty Awards Ceremony.

Michael Ackerman, D.N.S., R.N., associate professor of clinical nursing, was presented with the Outstanding Scholarly Practitioner Award in recognition of his innovative programs in critical care nursing.

The recipient of the Professional Advancement Award was Patricia Chiverton, Ed.D., R.N., associate dean of community-centered practice, who was honored for her work in building new linkages and practice sites in the community.

Carol Henretta, Ed.D., R.N., assistant professor of clinical nursing, was honored with the Outstanding Faculty Colleague Award for her outstanding teaching. She will retire June 30, 1997.

The Most Promising New Investigator Award was presented to Nancy Watson, Ph.D., R.N., assistant professor of nursing, in recognition of her research efforts on nursing home programs and care of the elderly.

Karen Radke, Ph.D., R.N., associate professor of nursing, received the 1997 Dean's Award for Teaching Excellence. The award honors her strong commitment to students and her outstanding teaching performance.

Each award recognizes demonstrated excellence and dedication to teaching as well as significant accomplishments in research and/or clinical practice.

"All five faculty members are well deserving of their awards. They have all made major contributions to the School of Nursing and their accomplishments are outstanding," said Sheila A. Ryan, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N, dean of the School of Nursing and director of Medical Center Nursing.

For Media Inquiries:
Public Relations Department
(585) 275-3676
Email Public Relations