The Highlands at Pittsford First in New York State to Earn Continuing Care Accreditation

Continuing Care Community Gains "Seal of Approval" from National Commission

November 06, 2001

The Highlands at Pittsford, a continuing care retirement community affiliated with Strong Health, is the first organization of its kind in New York State to meet the high standards necessary to earn accreditation from the Continuing Care Accreditation Commission (CCAC). Only about 10 percent of the nation's care communities are accredited.

A not-for-profit senior living community, The Highlands at Pittsford consists of three levels of living: 135 independent living apartments, 60 enriched living apartments, and a 122-bed skilled nursing facility. The program offers a full range of services and amenities that enable residents to maximize their independence and quality of life.

By earning accreditation, The Highlands at Pittsford joins 310 other select organizations across the country that have met the standards for recognition. Accreditation by the Commission is a rigorous, voluntary process involving extensive self-evaluation by the organization's staff, residents and board of directors, and an on-site review by trained CCAC evaluators. CCAC accreditation is widely regarded as a "seal of approval" in the retirement industry.

"After a rigorous and beneficial six-month self-assessment process, we are thrilled to have achieved accreditation," notes Mike Bierley, vice president of Senior Services for Highland Hospital, sponsor of The Highlands at Pittsford. "Accreditation is the industry standard for assuring quality and integrity, and it offers a standard for comparison in evaluating retirement living options."

Representatives from the community's board, resident council, Strong Health and local dignitaries have been invited to celebrate The Highlands at Pittsford's accreditation at a breakfast on November 12, 10 to 11:30 a.m., at The Highlands, 100 Hahnemann Trail, in Pittsford.

Before awarding accreditation, CCAC examines an organization's financial stability, residents' satisfaction, and governance involvement. Criteria for accreditation include:

· having resources necessary to meet present and projected needs, and sharing financial information with residents and applicants;

· a clear and appropriate residents' contract,

· an active and involved governing board

· proper emphasis on residents' physical, psycho-social and social needs while preserving each resident's right to self-determination, dignity and independence.

CCAC is an independent accrediting commission, composed of providers, consumers and experts from the continuing care industry. CCAC is sponsored by the American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging, a membership organization of more than 5,000 non-profit nursing homes, independent housing facilities, community services agencies, and retirement communities.

For Media Inquiries:
Lori Barrette
(585) 275-1310
Email Lori Barrette