Local American Association of Dental Research Awards Given

July 12, 2005

The annual meeting of the Rochester Section of the AADR was held on Thursday, June 9, 2005 at the Eastman Dental Center.

This meeting provides a unique opportunity for students, residents, faculty and staff to showcase their research activities and for all of us involved in Dentistry at the University of Rochester to learn about and discuss local research endeavors.   

The Rochester section officers include Drs. Hyun Koo, president; Rulang Jiang, secretary/treasurer; and Andy Teng, councilor.  Dr. Jiang chaired the event.  The Awards Committee included Drs. Robert Quivey, Ross Tallents and Gene Watson.  Dr. Wolfgang Haas was the alternate judge.

Dr. Wei Hsu was the keynote speaker and his address was entitled, “Genetic Regulatory Circuits in Skull Morphogenesis and Craniosynostosis”.

Bibby and Buonocore Awards

Traditionally, the Basil G. Bibby and Michael G. Buonocore awards are given during the Rochester AADR meeting. 

The Bibby Award is given for outstanding scientific merit among presentations by non-degree candidates.  Mrs. Basil Bibby was on hand to help present the Bibby award to Jeffrey Bush and Liam Casey.

The Buonocore Award is given for outstanding scientific merit among presentations by degree candidates.  Mrs. Michael Buonocore was on hand to help present the Buonocore award to Mawadda Alnaeeli and Yu-Ching Lai.

The program concluded with a reception in the Bibby Library.

For Media Inquiries:
Public Relations Department
(585) 275-3676
Email Public Relations



Additional Resources: