American Dental Education Association names Dr. Cyril Meyerowitz to the Commission for Change and Innovation in Dental Education

August 15, 2005

Dr. Cyril Meyerowtiz

Over the past decade, repeated calls have been made for curricular reform and innovation in dental education. The American Dental Education Association (ADEA) has endeavored to support change by developing curriculum guidelines, competency statements, and by holding a variety of meetings and conferences. In the fall of 2004, ADEA held a Forum on the Predoctoral Dental Curriculum and developed a number of recommendations.

As ADEA moves forward to implement these recommendations, an oversight committee entitled the Commission for Change and Innovation in Dental Education was established by Dr. Eric Hovland, president of the ADEA board of directors. Dr. Kenneth L. Kalkwarf, ADEA president-elect and dean of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Dental School, is serving as the Commission chairman.

Dr. Cyril Meyerowitz, director of the Eastman Dental Center and professor and chair of the Eastman Department of Dentistry will serve as a member on the Commission.

In his letter of invitation, Dr. Hovland wrote, “The work of the Commission for Change and Innovation in Dental Education will likely shape dental education for decades to come.”

Dr. Meyerowitz assumed the leadership position in Dentistry after the dental center and Medical Center merged in 1997. Under his leadership, the merged entity has made significant progress in its education, research and patient care mission. Working under the premise that good oral health is at the core of wellness, the belief is supported through all of the organization’s activities. One of Dr. Meyerowitz’s major objectives is to sensitize all residents and students to the mounting oral health needs of the underserved and to instill a sense of responsibility to these groups as they pursue their careers.

Dr. Meyerowitz was one of the leaders in the initiative to develop the New York State Academic Deans Council and New York Academic Dental Centers, a group of five dental schools in New York State that work together on state-wide initiatives in education and patient care. He is an active member of the group and served as chair from 1999 to 2001. He serves on the Commission on Dental Accreditation and is chair of the Postdoctoral General Dentistry Review Committee.

Dr. Meyerowitz is an alumnus of Eastman Dental Center and received his dental degree from the University of Witwatersrand, School of Dentistry, South Africa. He received his M.S. degree in dental research from the UR School of Medicine and Dentistry.

For Media Inquiries:
Public Relations Department
(585) 275-3676
Email Public Relations