Mark J. Adams, M.D., F.A.C.R., professor and associate chair of Imaging Sciences, was elected to the Council Steering Committee of the American College of Radiology, a 34,000-member group comprised of radiologists, radiation oncologists, medical physicists, interventional radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians.

Judy Baumhauer, M.D., M.P.H., professor of Orthopaedics, won the 2012 Athena Award, presented annually by the Rochester Women’s Council of the Rochester Business Alliance Inc. The Athena recognizes and celebrates the achievements of outstanding women, noting their professional excellence, community service, and mentoring skills.

Yeates Conwell, M.D., professor and vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry, is one of 73 individuals selected to participate in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ Innovation Advisors Program. The initiative will help health professionals enhance skills that could drive improvements to patient care and reduce costs.

George L. Hicks, M.D., chief of Cardiac Surgery, recently received the Socrates Award from the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association, an arm of the Thoracic Surgery Directors Association. The award honors Hicks for his passion and dedication to mentoring surgeons of tomorrow.

Richard E. Kreipe, M.D., professor of Pediatrics, earned the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine’s award for Outstanding Achievement in Adolescent Medicine, celebrating his more than 30-year career advancing research, education, clinical care and community outreach to better address the health care needs of adolescents.

Annette Medina-Walpole, M.D., A.G.S.F., was elected to the American Geriatrics Society Board of Directors for a three-year term. Medina-Walpole, a professor of medicine in the Division of Geriatrics and Aging, is medical director and attending physician for
The Living Center at The Highlands at Pittsford. She also is leading an initiative to provide innovative geriatric training to non-geriatricians at Highland and Strong Memorial hospitals.

Jacob Moalem, M.D., F.A.C.S., an endocrine surgeon and assistant professor of Surgery, earned a 2012 Leadership Award from the American Medical Association Foundation, an honor that outfits medical students, residents, fellows and early career physicians with special training to further develop their skills as future leaders in both organized medicine and community affairs.

Gary R. Morrow, Ph.D., M.S., received the 2012 Distinguished Research Mentor Award at the Society of Behavioral Medicine’s 33rd annual meeting. A professor both of Radiation Oncology and Psychiatry, Morrow has mentored more than 50 young professionals in medicine and science during his 36-year career.

Michael R. Privitera, M.D., M.S., associate professor of Psychiatry, received the 2012 Manfred S. Guttmacher Award sponsored by the American Psychiatric Association and the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law. The award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the literature of forensic psychiatry. Privitera, director of the Psychiatry Consultation Service at the Medical Center, was honored for his work editing Workplace Violence in Mental and General Healthcare Settings, along with writing several chapters in the book.

Timothy E. Quill, M.D., director of the Center for Ethics, Humanities and Palliative Care, assumed the presidency of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, taking the reins of the 4,100-member group at a time when hospitals are working to keep up with increasing demand for palliative care. He currently heads one of the strongest palliative care programs in the world, which became the first academic medical center-based program nationwide to earn advanced certification from the Joint Commission.

Mark B. Taubman, M.D., dean of the School of Medicine and Dentistry, was appointed by Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo to the New York State Council on Graduate Medical Education. Taubman will serve a four-year term on the council, which provides advice to the governor and commissioner of health on the formulation and implementation of state policies relating to medical education and training.

David Waldman, M.D., Ph.D., chair of Imaging Sciences, was named a fellow of the Society of Interventional Radiology and, together with Steven Meyers M.D., Ph.D., professor of Imaging Sciences, he also was named a fellow of American College of Radiology. Interventional radiologists are recognized by the Society when they have distinguished themselves and have been recognized as a leading contributor in educational, investigational, organizational or professional aspects of the field. Being named an ACR Fellow is one of the highest honors of the professional organization, awarded to those who demonstrate a history of service to the College, organized radiology, teaching, or research.

The Hematology/Oncology division of the James P. Wilmot Cancer Center has earned certification through the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative sponsored by the American Society of Clinical Oncology. ASCO's Quality Oncology Practice Initiative is an oncologist-led, practice-based quality improvement program aimed at promoting excellence in cancer care by helping practices create a culture of self-examination and improvement.

The Rochester Youth Violence Partnership (RYVP), an intervention program developed by URMC, was honored with the American Hospital Association’s prestigious NOVA Award for its commitment to improving community health. Headed by the Kessler Burn and Trauma Center under the direction of medical director Mark L. Gestring, M.D., RYVP is a hospital-based violence intervention program that helps trauma victims under the age of 18 who have been shot or stabbed. RYVP is a partnership supported by more than 30 local non-profit, government and service-based organizations, including Golisano Children’s Hospital at URMC and the City of Rochester’s Pathways to Peace program.

Strong Consult and Transfer Center

Toll-free (800) 499-9298
(585) 275-4999