Congratulations Graduates

Ph.D. Program in Biochemistry
Rachel Bonn
Isreal Moreno
Griffin Schroeder
Monika Tasak
Arica VanderWal
Ethan Walker

Ph.D. Program in Biophysics

Mukta Palshikar

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts."

-Winston Churchill

Wallace O. Fenn Award

School of Medicine and Dentistry award for thesis originality, creative thinking and excellence in research

Griffin Schroeder

Walter S. Bloor Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biochemistry

Ethan Walker and Arica VanderWal

Marvel-Dare F. Nutting Award

In recognition of an outstanding graduate receiving a Ph.D. in Biochemistry

Arica VanderWal

George V. Metzger Award

For excellence of the Ph.D. thesis and in the research leading to the dissertation in the Program in Biophysics

Mukta Palshikar

Fred Sherman Award

Program in Biochemistry award to a student who exemplifies the imagination, the excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge, and the commitment to the scientific community that were characteristic of Dr. Fred Sherman

Justin Galardi

William F. Neuman Award

Program in Biophysics award for academic, scientific and personal qualities exemplifying the imagination, enthusiasm and excellence in the pursuit of scientific knowledge which were characteristic of the life of Dr. Neuman

Joseph Bucukovski

William F. & Margaret W. Neuman Travel Award

Joseph Bucukovski, Xueyang He, and Ashlin Poruthoor

 \diamond

Student Seminar Award
Fall Semester – **Griffin Schroeder** (BMB), **Gabrielle Kosoy** (BSCB)
Spring Semester – **Madeline Jensen** (BMB), **Wesley Chiang** (BSCB)

Elon Huntington Hooker Fellowship

Awarded by the University to a student for graduate work related to Chemistry in memory of Elon Huntington Hooker, a graduate & trustee

To be Announced

Messersmith/Goodman Dissertation Fellowship

Awarded by the University for graduate work in the preclinical departments of the School of Medicine and Dentistry or for graduate work in Biology, Chemistry, or Physics

To Be Announced

Student/Postdoctoral Fellowship Recipients
Gloria Asantewaa - Wilmot Predoctoral Cancer Research
Fellowship

Sayeeda Zain Fall Travel Award
Gabrielle Kosoy, Adrian Moises Molina
Vargas, Franziska Stegemann,
and Jennifer Twardowski

Sayeeda Zain Spring Travel Award Brandon Davis, Xueyang He, and Matt Raymonda

Faculty Teaching Award
Biochemistry Program – **Dr. Jeffrey Hayes**Biophysics Program – **Dr. Alan Grossfield**

Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics Awards Ceremony & Reception



Thursday, May 11, 2023 1:30 p.m. Neuman Room 1-6823