Skip to main content
Explore URMC

SMD Logo



Since the University of Rochester began training MD/PhD physician-scientists in 1958, the program has progressively grown and innovated. As of May 2016, the program boasts 167 graduates and produces an average of eight new physician-scientists each year. The 2016-2017 academic year will mark our 41stconsecutive year of MSTP funding and 58th year training physician-scientists.

Most of our graduates continue on in residency training and ultimately remain in academic medicine. Of 159 MSTP trainees graduating from the University of Rochester between 1978 and 2012, at least 100 remain in the academic track, with 70 currently holding faculty appointments at the Assistant Professor or higher level and 28 still in fellowship or residency training.

Alumni are invited to keep the program abreast of their personal and career successes through the MSTP office. Please also consider getting involved with our program through teaching our students in the MSTP curriculum, participating in symposia and retreats, hosting our students and alumni interviewing for residency and fellowship, and more. Finally, alumni are invited to support the continued success and growth of our program by making a gift to the program.

Last year, we celebrated our long-standing status as an MSTP with our 40th Anniversary Celebration on October 9, 2015! Feel free to look at photos from the event!

Distinguished Alumni

David Mathews (2003)
Associate Professor, Departments of Biochemistry & Biophysics and Biostatistics & Computational Biology
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Marc Halterman (2002)
Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology and Pediatrics
Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Jennifer H. Anolik (1996)
Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Allergy/Immunology and Rheumatology
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry; Member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (2015)
Virginia Winn (1996)
Associate Professor, Obstetrics/Gynecology (Reproductive and Stem Cell Biology) Stanford School of Medicine
Alison Bertuch (1993)
Associate Professor, Department of Molecular & Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
Akiko Shimamura (1991)
Associate Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
University of Washington School of Medicine
David Waldman (1988)
Professor & Chair of Imaging Sciences
Professor, Department of Surgery (Cardiac)
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Robert Colbert (1987)
Chief, Pediatric Translational Research Branch
Deputy Clinical Director, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
Paul Love (1987)
Head, Section on Cellular & Developmental Biology
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Richard Gallo (1986)
Chief, Division of Dermatology
Professor, Department of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics
University of California San Diego School of Medicine
Edward Maytin (1985)
Section Head of Molecular Dermatology, Department of Dermatology
Assistant Staff, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Lerner Research Institute
Cleveland Clinic
Bradford Berk (1981)
Chief Executive Officer & Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, University of Rochester Medical Center
Professor, Department of Medicine (Cardiology) and Department of Pharmacology & Physiology
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Stephen Thom (1981)
Professor, Emergency Medicine; Chief, Hyperbaric Medicine
Institute for Environmental Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
John DiPersio (1980)
Deputy Director, Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center
Samuel J. Goldman Endowed Professor of Oncology
Washington University School of Medicine
Ronnie Guillet (1980)
Professor of Pediatrics (Neonatology)
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
Edward Rubin (1980)
Chief Scientific Officer, Metabiota
Randy Rosier (1978)
Professor Emeritus and former Chair, Department of Orthopaedics
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry