Skip to main content
Explore URMC

Flaum Eye Institute / Education and Residency / Physicians Program

Physicians Program

Course Description

"Vision for the Future", a special two-day celebration, will dedicate the newly established University of Rochester Eye Institute and feature internationally recognized leaders in ophthalmology, including Stephen J. Ryan, M.D., Ronald E. Smith, M.D., Peter McDonnell, M.D., Henry Metz, M.D., and Gullapalli N. Rao, M.D.

The course is divided into eight thematic areas, including Retina, Glaucoma, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Visual Rehabilitation, Technology, Refractive Surgery, and Corneal Disease.


This conference is planned so that at its completion, participants should be able to:

  • List genetic considerations and implications for the treatment of macular degeneration
  • Outline new developments in Glaucoma treatment
  • Cite and understand neuro-opthalmological issues in Intracranial Hypertension and Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Address and manage pediatric ophthalmology issues and motility
  • Define treatment protocols for visual rehabilitation
  • Identify new ophthalmologic technologies
  • Assess and describe complications in Refractive Surgery
  • Recognize symptoms of corneal disease and identify new devices and treatments


The University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry designates this educational activity for a maximum of 10.5 category I credits towards the AMA Physician’s Recognition Award. Each physician should claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the educational activity.


Individuals who wish to attend the 2004 Rochester Ophthalmology Conference should complete the registration process by May 14, 2004.

Physician Program Schedule

Day 1

Time Event Details
7:30 - 8:15 a.m. Registration & Continental Breakfast  
8:15 - 8:20 a.m. Introduction Speaker: C.McCollister Evarts, MD

8:20 - 8:30 a.m.

Welcome Speaker: Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA
8:30 - 10:00 a.m. Retina and Glaucoma Moderator: Mina Chung, MD
10:00 -10:15 a.m. Break  
10:20 -11:00 a.m. Snell Memorial Lecture Speaker: Steven Ryan, MD
11:00 -12:00 p.m. Neuro Ophthalmology Moderator: Deborah Friedman, MD
12:00 - 2:00 p.m. Lunch and Open House  
2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Pediatric Ophthalmology and Motility Moderator: Matthew Gearinger, MD
3:00 - 4:00 p.m. Visual Rehabilitation Moderator: Gullapalli Rao, MD
4:00 p.m. Exhibits and Refreshments  

Day 2

Time Event Details
8:55 -9:00 a.m. Welcome Speaker: David Guzick, MD
9:00 - 10:30 a.m. New Technology in Ophthalmology Moderator: David Williams, PhD
10:30 - 10:55 a.m. Break


10:55 - 11:45 a.m. Bausch and Lomb Visiting Professor Lecture Speaker: Ronald E. Smith, MD
11:45 -1:00 p.m. Lunch  
1:00 -2:15 p.m. Refractive Surgery Moderator: Scott MacRae, MD
2:15 - 3:45 p.m. Corneal Disease Moderator: Steven ST Ching, MD
3:45 p.m. Concluding Remarks Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA