Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC


Highland Hospital Honors Physician and Advanced Practice Provider of the Year

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Highland Hospital is honoring Sunil Bansal, M.D., FACEP as Physician of the Year, and Andrea Avidano

Highland Hospital is honoring Sunil Bansal, M.D., FACEP as Physician of the Year, and Andrea Avidano, MSN, APRN, ANP-BC, WHNP-BC, BC-ADM, as Advanced Practice Provider (APP) of the Year.

Dr. Bansal is Assistant Medical Director and Ultrasound Director in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Highland. He is also an Assistant Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. The Pittsford resident was nominated for the prestigious award, also called Distinguished Physician, by administrators, colleagues, and other co-workers for healthcare excellence.

“I’m truly honored to be selected for this award,” said Dr. Bansal. “Highland Hospital has been my sole place of practice for nearly 10 years. It is the collegial and patient centered environment that allows medical professionals to thrive. I’m proud to practice at Highland Hospital Emergency Department, and look forward to many more years to come.”

Dr. Bansal received nominations from several colleagues. One of them was Timothy Lum, M.D. MPP, Chief of Emergency Medicine at Highland. “I personally regard him as one of the finest, most skilled physicians with whom I have ever worked,” said Dr. Lum. “He embodies the highest virtues of our profession and I am proud to be his colleague.” 

Previous recipients of the award include: Tulsi Dass, M.B.B.S., Bilal Ahmed, M.D., Theodore Hirokawa, M.D., Jeffrey Harp, M.D., Daniel Mendelson, M.D., Alice Taylor, M.D., Joseph Nicholas, M.D., Melissa Schiff, M.D., David Holub, M.D. Youngrin Kim, M.D., Cynthia Angel, M.D., and Ashish Boghani, M.D., FACP.

Advanced Practice Provider Andrea Avidano MSN, APRN, ANP-BC, WHNP-BC, BC-ADM, has served as an Adult Nurse Practitioner at Highland since 2009. "Highland equals family,” said the Rochester resident. “I love that everyone knows each other. We're able to share information and show the ICARE values with each other and our patients.”

Avidano was also nominated by several colleagues for the award. “Andrea Avidano is the epitome of professional excellence and behavior,” said Youngrin Kim, M.D., Chief Hospitalist. “She is always very happy and eager to help in her role as an Endocrinology consultant. Her clinical judgment is spot on. As a result of her excellent knowledge base, judgement, and compassion, our patients and providers at Highland benefit immensely.” 

Previous recipients of the APP of the Year Award include: Abby McCarthy, RPA-C, Pamela Heiple, APRN-BC, NPP and Sheila Marcoccia, RPA-C, and Jessica Mahoney, PA-C.

Dr. Bansal and Avidano will be recognized during an awards ceremony at the hospital and at a Highland Board of Directors meeting.

Media Contact

Wendy Boyce

(585) 275-3676

article hit counter