Skip to main content
Explore URMC



Awards and Recognition

URSMD Faculty Diversity Award


Catherine Cerulli, JD, PhDDiversity, inclusion and multiculturalism are critical to the vitality and success of a thriving medical school community. Established in 2013, the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry Faculty Diversity Award recognizes the exceptional contributions and accomplishments of medical school faculty to fostering a diverse and inclusive medical school community. Recipients demonstrate this commitment through leadership in recruitment and retention efforts, teaching, mentoring, research, multi-cultural programming, cultural competency, community outreach activities and/or other initiatives.

Diane Morse, MDThe 2017 recipient of the Faculty Diversity Award honoree is Catherine Cerulli, JD, PhD, Director, Susan B. Anthony Center, University, and Associate Professor of Psychiatry, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Past recipients have included:

  • Jonathan W. Mink, MD, PhD (2013)
    Professor of Neurology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Pediatrics
  • Kevin A. Fiscella, MD, MPH (2013)
    Professor of Family Medicine
  • Nancy Chin, PhD, MPH (2014)
    Associate Professor of Public Health Sciences, and Medical Humanities and Bioethics
  • Brenda D. Lee, MEd (2015)
    Assistant Dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs
    Assistant Professor, Medical Humanities and Bioethics
  • Diane S. Morse, MD (2016)
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Medicine
    Director, Women's Initiative Supporting Health (WISH)

Nominations for the 2018 URSMD Faculty Diversity Award will be announced sometime in Spring 2018.

Please contact Dr. Linda Chaudron with any questions.

Other Recognition

University of Rochester Presidential Diversity Award

The University of Rochester Presidential Diversity Award recognizes faculty, staff, students, units, departments, or other functional teams of the university or graduates of the university that contribute to diversity and inclusion through exemplary leadership.

Recent recipients from the University of Rochester Medical Center have included Gina Culyer, MD (2017), Kathy Rideout, EdD, PNP-BC, FNAP, John P Cullen, PhD (2014), Lynn Maquat, PhD (2013), and the URMC Teen Health and Success Program led by Suzanne Piotrowski, MD (2013).