Skip to main content

URMC Logo

URMC / Labs / Benoit Lab / Personnel

Personnel

Clinical Research Fellows

Joe VellaJoe Vella, MD, MSE, PhD
Clinical Fellow - Otolaryngology
josephb_vella@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Tissue engineered approaches to head and neck and craniofacial reconstruction

Postdoctoral Scholars

Andrew ShubinAndrew Shubin, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
andrew_shubin@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Salivary gland regeneration

Weitao WangWeitao Wang, M.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
weitao_wang@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Tissue engineering approaches for allograft revitalization

Technicians and Staff

Tim FelongTim Felong
Research Technician
tfelong@u.rochester.edu

Melane JamesMelane L. James
Sr. Technical Associate
mjames16@ur.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Marian Ackun-FarmmerMarian Ackun-Farmmer, M.S.
Graduate Student
mackunfa@ur.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Bone targeted micelle drug delivery

Dominic MalcolmDominic Malcolm, M.S.
Graduate Student
dominic.malcolm@rochester.edu
Research Focus: Development of biomaterials to facilitate sustained, localized siRNA delivery to drive differentiation in mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) for tissue engineering applications

Maureen NewmanMaureen Newman, M.S.
Graduate Student
maureen.r.newman@gmail.com
Research Focus: Targeted bone-anabolic therapeutics to enhance osteoporosis treatment (supported by an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship and a University of Rochester Sproull Fellowship)

Kenneth SimsKenneth Sims, M.S.
Graduate Student
kenneth_sims@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Use of pH-sensitive nanoparticle carriers in controlled release of anti-biofilm agents.

Jomy VargheseJomy Varghese, M.Sc.
Graduate Student
jomy_varghese@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Controlled drug release via nanoparticle carriers (supported by an NIH F30 Research Fellowship)

Yuchen WangYuchen Wang, M.S.
Graduate Student
ywang136@z.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Promoting MSC-mediated musculoskeletal tissue regeneration using sustained, localized siRNA delivery

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Erin AntonienkoErin Antonienko
Undergraduate Student, Biochemistry
eantonie@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Development of hydrogel-based peptide delivery systems

Nick BohmannNick Bohmann
2016 Summer Research Fellow, Bioengineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech)
nickb5@vt.edu
Research Focus: Hydrogel drug depots

Dina CollinsDina Collins
2016 Summer Scholar, Biomedical Engineering, University of Delaware
dinacoll@udel.edu
Research Focus: Nanoparticle siRNA delivery system

Sidney DuquetteSidney Duquette
Undergraduate Student
sduquet2@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Chemical synthesis and characterization of nanoparticle drug carriers.

Eva HansenEva Hansen
Biomedical Engineering Undergraduate Student
mhansen9@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Salivary gland radiation protection

Martha OrmanoskiMartha Ormanoski
2016 Summer Scholar, Biomedical Engineering, Cornell University
mao64@cornell.edu
Research Focus: Salivary gland radiation protection

Steven RussellSteven Russell
Chemical Engineering Undergraduate Student
srusse12@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Bone-targeted peptide-functionalized polymers for drug delivery

Brittany SchutrumBrittany Schutrum
Biomedical Engineering Undergraduate Student
bschutru@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Salivary gland regeneration

Janet SorrellsJanet Sorrells
Biomedical Engineering Undergraduate Student
jsorrell@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: siRNA nanoparticles as drug delivery system for mesenchymal stem cells

Sue ZhangSue Zhang
Biomedical Engineering Undergraduate Student
szhang50@u.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Hydrogel based drug delivery to bone