Skip to main content
Explore URMC

URMC Logo

menu
URMC / Labs / Goldman Lab / Personnel

Personnel

Photo of Goldman Lab members

Principal Investigator

Steven GoldmanSteven A. Goldman, M.D., Ph.D.
steven_goldman@urmc.rochester.edu

Identify the expression patterns of the major categories of stem and progenitor cells of the adult human brain and to use that information to define the signaling pathways that distinguish one progenitor from another, as well as those that distinguish brain tumor stem and progenitor cells from their normal counterparts.

Faculty

Robert AgateRobert J. Agate, Ph.D.
Adjunct Research Assistant Professor
Phone: (585) 276-6413
robert_agate@urmc.rochester.edu

Identifying and characterizing those molecular pathways that serve to link testosterone-induced angiogenesis and neurogenesis. His work focuses on the adult songbird forebrain, a uniquely powerful model for assessing the molecular mechanisms of induced angiogenesis and neurogenesis in the adult vertebrate brain.

Abdellatif BenraissAbdellatif Benraiss, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Phone: (585) 275-6313
abdellatif_benraiss@urmc.rochester.edu

The use of gene therapeutic strategies to induce and regulate neurogenesis from endogenous neural stem cells in the adult mammalian brain, with a particular emphasis on developing this as a therapeutic strategy in Huntington's disease.

Devin Chandler-MilitelloDevin Chandler-Militello, M.S.
Associate
Phone: (585) 275-9576
devin_chandler-militello@urmc.rochester.edu

Differentiation of human glial progenitor cells from iPSCs for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis to examine changes in gene expression. Working with Dr. Windrem to generate iPSC and hESC-derived glial progenitor cells for cell therapy.

Tamara MajorTamara Major, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: (585) 276-3630
tamara_major@urmc.rochester.edu

Application of glial progenitor cells derived from human embryonic stem (hES) cells and induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cells for neurodegenerative disease modeling and development of stem cell based therapeutic strategies.

Joana OsorioJoana Osorio, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Phone: (585) 276-6390
joana_osorio@urmc.rochester.edu

Cell based therapies for treatment of congenital disorders of myelin, particularly Pelizaeus Merzbacher disease and Krabbe disease. Gene editing of human induced pluripotent stem cells from patients with Pelizaeus Merzbacher disease for autologous cell transplantation. Differential characteristics of human and murine NG2+ oligodendrocyte progenitor cells in the grey and white matter. Migration and dispersal of human oligodendrocyte progenitor cells in the rat brain.

Su WangSu Wang, M.D., Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
Phone: (585) 275-9576
su_wang@urmc.rochester.edu

Differentiation of human striatal neural progenitor cells into medium spiny neurons, and the additional changes in their gene expression that accompany their expression of mutant Huntington protein. His goal is to identify targets for intervention in Huntington’s Disease. Working together with Dr. Windrem, Dr. Wang also studies the oligodendrocytic differentiation of human glial progenitor cells, as derived from pluripotential stem cells, for the purpose of establishing iPS and ES cell-based sources of oligodendrocyte progenitors for cell therapy.

Martha WindremMartha Windrem, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Phone: (585) 275-5372
martha_windrem@urmc.rochester.edu

The use of glial progenitor cells for treating disorders of myelin, in both pediatric and adult animal models of myelin disease. She also studies the biology of human astrocytes and oligodendrocytes in vivo, in chimeric brain models that permit the assessment of human cells in vivo, in rodent models of neurological disease.

Technicians and Staff

Janna BatesJanna Bates
Senior Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 276-3365
janna1_bates@urmc.rochester.edu

Kathy ClarkKathy Clark, Ph.D.
Technical Associate
kathy_clark@urmc.rochester.edu

Simrat DhaliwalSimrat Dhaliwal
Technical Associate
simrat_dhaliwal@urmc.rochester.edu

Xiaojie LiXiaojie Li
Senior Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 275-9604
xiaojie_li@urmc.rochester.edu

Katherine McCoyKatherine McCoy
Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 275-9714
katherine_mccoy@urmc.rochester.edu

Erin McMullenErin McMullen
Administrative Assistant
Phone: (585) 275-0550
erin_mcmullen@urmc.rochester.edu

Christina PolitoChristina Polito
Center Administrator
Phone: (585) 276-4595
christina_polito@urmc.rochester.edu

Tyler ReidTyler Reid, M.S.
IT Desktop Support/Programmer
KMRB 1-9649
Phone: (585) 273-5332
tyler_reid@urmc.rochester.edu

Steven SchanzSteven Schanz
Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 275-9714
steve_schanz@urmc.rochester.edu

Renee SollyRenee Solly
Technical Associate
renee_solly@urmc.rochester.edu

Mark StoesselMark Stoessel
Technical Associate
mark_stoessel@urmc.rochester.edu

Ashley TateAshley Tate
Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 276-3141
ashley_tate@urmc.rochester.edu

Robin WilliamsonRobin Williamson, Ph.D., P.M.P.
Project Manager
robin_williamson@urmc.rochester.edu

Jennifer WintermuteJennifer Wintermute
Technical Associate
MC
Phone: (585) 275-9604
jennifer_wintermute@urmc.rochester.edu

Christopher WuChristopher Wu, MBA
Senior Accountant
Phone: (585) 276-8359
christopher_wu@urmc.rochester.edu

Alexis YagielskiAlexis Yagielski
Technical Associate
alexis_yagielski@urmc.rochester.edu

Lisa ZouLisa Zou
Technical Associate
Phone: (585) 275-9714
lisa_zou@urmc.rochester.edu

Postdoctoral Scholars

Cui LiCui Li, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
cui_li@urmc.rochester.edu

Zhengshan LiuZhengshan Liu, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
zhengshan_liu@urmc.rochester.edu

John MarianiJohn Mariani, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
John_Mariani@urmc.rochester.edu