Skip to main content
Explore URMC

URMC Logo

URMC / Labs / Nedergaard Lab / Personnel / Faculty

Faculty

Maiken NedergaardMaiken Nedergaard, M.D., DMSc
Principal Investigator
KMRB 1-9915B
Phone: (585) 273-2868
nedergaard@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: The basic biology of glial cells in the CNS and the role of astrocytes in several neurological diseases, including stroke, spinal cord injury, epilepsy, tremor, and ALS. Research is aimed at defining new strategies for the treatment of neurological diseases that target astrocytic dysfunction.

Rashid DeaneRashid Deane, B.Sc., Ph.D.
Research Professor
rashid_deane@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: The role of the neurovascular unit (blood-brain barrier, pericytes, astrocytes, microglia and neurons) in controlling the brain’s microenvironment in health and disease. This includes clearance mechanisms of molecules (e.g., tau), from the aging and injured brain, and the impact of toxicants and metals in the development of cognitive decline and diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Understanding how the aging brain distributes and eliminates molecules may lead to novel therapeutic approaches for the diagnosis and prevention of AD, and thus minimize the burden of the pending AD tsunami.

Fengfei DingFengfei Ding, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
fengfei_ding@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: EEG recording and behavior tests

Ali ErturkAli Erturk, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
ali_erturk@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Study of neurodegeneration and inflammation in acute brain injuries using tissue clearing technologies.

Rashad HussainRashad Hussain, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
rashad_hussain@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Glymphatic system in health and disease; neuron-glia interactions and signaling mechanisms.

Nanhong LouNanhong Lou, M.D.
Research Assistant Professor
nanhong_lou@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: The role of gliosis and glial cell signaling in stroke by using in vivo multiphoton imaging and electrophysiological methods.

Yuan LuYuan Lu, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
yuan_lu@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Electrophysiological study of neuro-glia interaction in neurological diseases including Alzheimer's disease

Iben LundgaardIben Lundgaard, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
iben_lundgaard@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: The function of astrocyte-oligodendrocyte gap junctions.

Rupal MehtaRupal Mehta, M.D.
Assistant Professor
rupal_mehta@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Small vessel disease and blood-brain barrier disruption in stroke

Erlend NagelhusErlend Arnulf Nagelhus, M.D., Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
e.a.nagelhus@medisin.uio.no
Research Focus: Glia-vascular Imaging

Weiguo PengWeiguo Peng, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
weiguo_peng@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Spinal cord and spinal nerve injury; more specifically the secondary injury after spinal cord trauma and how to improve the recovery of spinal cord injury.

Jiandi WanJiandi Wan, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
jiandi_wan@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Red cell mechanosensing dynamics, tissue engineering and fluid dynamics.

Jim XuJim Xu, Ph.D.
Associate
qiwu_xu@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Focus: Using in vivo and in vitro electrophysiological, multiphoton, oxygen sensor and potassium sensor methods to investigate the physiological functions of astrocytes in the central nervous system.