Skip to main content
Explore URMC

URMC / Medicine / Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology

Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology

  • Drs. Korman and Lieberman assist patient
  • AIR Fellows
  • AIR Research Coordinators
  • Nelson Huertas in the Ritchlin Laboratory

Welcome from the Chief

Christopher Ritchlin, MD, MPHWelcome to the Division of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology (AIR). This Division has a long history of providing excellence in patient care, medical research, and education that dates back to the 1950’s. Our current faculty and staff are not only committed to carrying on this tradition but are also recognized nationally as leaders in their field.

We provide timely, comprehensive, individualized, state-of-the-art medical care to patients with musculoskeletal, autoimmune, and allergic diseases. We act as advocates for our patients and seek to improve treatments outcomes and quality of life.

Our faculty perform cutting edge investigation in basic science and translational research as we seek to expand our understanding of the mechanisms that underlie inflammatory, allergic and autoimmune disorders, with the goal of developing more effective and less toxic treatments.

We are also committed to educating the next generation of Allergists/Immunologists and Rheumatologists. Being a combined division with close ties to Pediatrics as wells many other Departments in the Medical Center including Orthopedics, Dermatology and others offers our fellows numerous unique opportunities.

Christopher Ritchlin, M.D., M.P.H.
Division Chief

Upcoming Speakers and Events

AIR Grand Rounds

Elizabeth Matsui, MD"Rethinking ‘Inner-City’ Asthma"

Elizabeth Matsui, MD, MHS
Professor of Population Health and Pediatrics
Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin

April 18, 2019
8:00 am
K-207 Auditorium (Room 2-6408)

Recent News

March 14, 2019
Bethany Marston, MD joins ACR Discussion on Workforce Issues

October 25, 2018
AIR Research Presented at National Meeting

October 25, 2018
Christopher Ritchlin, MD, MPH a Master of the American College of Rheumatology

August 24, 2018
AIR Staff are Stars in the Office and in the Field

August 23, 2018
Allen Anandarajah, MD, MSc Awarded One of Two ACR Grants From the Office of Minority Health for the IQ-LUPUS Project

August 10, 2018
Dr. Jennifer Barnas Receives ACR Rheumatology Research Foundation Scientist Development Award

All News »


Jennifer Anolik, MDJennifer Anolik, MD, PhD Named Associate Chair of Research for the Department of Medicine

As Associate Chair of Research, Dr. Jennifer Anolik will be collaborating with Dr. Stephen Hammes, Vice Chair for Research and Academic Affairs. They have been tasked with the oversight and continued development of the academic and research missions in the Department of Medicine.

Christopher Ritchlin, MDChristopher Ritchlin, MD, MPH Named a Master of the American College of Rheumatology

At the 2018 National Meeting of the American College of Rheumatology, Christopher Ritchlin, MD, MPH, was honored with one of the College's highest honors. He was the recipient of its Master of the ACR designation. Recipients must "have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and/or service to their patients, students, and the rheumatology profession (and) devoted their long careers to furthering rheumatology research and improving clinical standards in the treatment of rheumatic diseases."