Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC

UR Medicine

UR Medicine / Neurology / Fields Center / Our Team / Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

Three respected scientists have agreed to serve on the Fields Center Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). They include:

  • John Kissel, MD. Professor of Neurology and Chair of the Department of Neurology at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio. Dr. Kissel is one of the country’s most highly respected clinical neuromuscular specialists. He has a long-standing interest and research experience in FSHD (FSH dystrophy).
  • John Porter, PhD. Program Director, Neuromuscular Disease, at the National Institutes of Health/NINDS. Dr. Porter is involved in all extramural research activities dealing with neuromuscular diseases and will provide the Board with a broad view of the field as well as emerging trends in research and funding opportunities.
  • Maurice Swanson, PhD. Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology at the University of Florida. Dr. Swanson is an outstanding scientist who, together with Dr. Thornton, helped unravel the pathophysiologic mechanisms underlying myotonic muscular dystrophy.

We are pleased to have such knowledgeable and well-respected individuals working with this program.