Skip to main content
Explore URMC


URMC / News / Department of Dentistry Researchers Earn International Association of Dental Research Award

Department of Dentistry Researchers Earn International Association of Dental Research Award

Tuesday, May 23, 2006

The Innovation in Oral Care Award is jointly sponsored by the International Association of Dental Research and GlaxoSmithKline, with funding provided exclusively by GSK. After consideration of innovation, scientific merit and resources, Hyun (Michel) Koo, D.D.S., Ph.D., and Yen-Tung Andy Teng,D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., were named as two of this year’s three awardees.

The unrestricted research grants of up to $75,000 each are provided to recipients to advance oral care programs directed toward the development of innovative and novel compounds, biomaterials, or devices that can be used ultimately at the public health level.

“Research continues to play an increasingly important role in Dentistry’s future as we strive to find preventive and treatment options in the oral health field.  Our investigators are working in all levels of research from basic to translational,” said Cyril Meyerowitz, D.D.S., M.S., Department of Dentistry chair and director of the Eastman Dental Center (EDC).  “We are extremely proud of both Drs. Koo and Teng and their lab staff for earning the Innovation in Oral Care Award.”

Dr. Koo received his Ph.D. degree from the State University of Campinas, Brazil, in 1999; his M.S. in 1996 from the State University of Campinas, College of Food Engineering in Brazil; and his D.D.S. degree in 1993 from the State University of Sao Paulo, Brazil.  He was a postdoctoral fellow in oral biology/cariology at the Center for Oral Biology at the University of Rochester Medical Center. Dr. Koo joined the Eastman Department of Dentistry faculty in 2002 and is an assistant professor and principal investigator of the Laboratory of Applied Oral Microbiology located at EDC.

Dr. Koo was instrumental in the establishment of the oral health alliance between the University of Rochester EDC, and the Faculty of Dentistry of Piracicaba (FOP), University of Campinas (UNICAMP) to promote innovative research ideas and cooperation on scientific projects. 

Dr. Teng is an associate professor in the Department of Dentistry’s Division of Periodontology and is on the faculty of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. He is also principal investigator of the Laboratory of Molecular Microbial Immunity housed at EDC.  

Dr. Teng received the prestigious Career Scientist Award from the Ministry of Health of Ontario, Canada. each year from 1997 through 2002. The following year he was given the International Award for Bone and Mineral Tissue Research. He received his Ph.D. in1997 from the University of Toronto, an M.S. in 1989 from Loyola University in Chicago, and his D.D.S., in 1984 from the Kaohsiung Medical University School of Dentistry, Taiwan.

Both the IADR and GlaxoSmithKline recognize the need for pioneers to produce innovative technologies that can be used routinely by the public to maintain and improve oral health and quality of life. The Innovation in Oral Care Awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have direct impact on the oral health of the public. 

The awards will be given to Drs. Koo and Teng following the opening ceremonies of the IADR 84th General Session in Brisbane, Australia, on June 28.

Media Contact

Public Relations Department

(585) 275-3676

article hit counter