Skip to main content
Explore URMC


URMC / News / Hartmann Named Winner of National Leadership Award

Hartmann Named Winner of National Leadership Award

Monday, September 29, 2008

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) has named Diane M. Hartmann, M.D., a recipient of the organization’s Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award.

Hartmann, the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry’s senior associate dean for graduate medical education and professor of obstetrics and gynecology, is one of three officials nationwide who will receive the award.

The Palmer award is given annually to officials who have created an exemplary environment for educational programs, facilitated residents’ ethical, professional, and personal development, and ensured safe and appropriate care of patients. The recipients are selected from a small community hospital, a large community hospital, or a tertiary academic center.

The ACGME is a private, non-profit council that evaluates medical residency programs in the United States. It accredits about 8,000 residency programs, affecting about 100,000 medical residents.

According to the ACGME, awarding the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award acknowledges the leadership and commitment of officials who foster an excellent educational environment for resident education.

Hartmann recently was selected to lead the Council on Graduate Medical Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology (CREOG) as its chairperson for 2008-2010. CREOG, a council of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, is dedicated to the promotion and maintenance of excellence in residency and subspecialty fellowship education. The organization represents more than 250 residency programs in the United States and collaborates with resident training programs in Canada, Mexico, and Latin America.

Hartmann will receive the Palmer award at the ACGME annual educational conference in March in Texas.

Parker J. Palmer is a highly respected writer and traveling teacher who works on issues in education, community, spirituality, and social change. He is senior associate of the American Association for Higher Education.

Media Contact

Public Relations Department

(585) 275-3676

article hit counter