Skip to main content
Explore URMC


URMC / News / Sabres, Amerks Alumni Return to the Ice to Benefit Hospital

Sabres, Amerks Alumni Return to the Ice to Benefit Hospital

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Alumni players from the Rochester Americans and the Buffalo Sabres will face off in a special hockey game Saturday, Dec. 10, at the ESL Sports Centre at MCC to benefit Golisano Children’s Hospital at Strong.

The game, which starts at 7 p.m. (doors open at 6:45 p.m.), will feature many former stars from both teams as well as local media celebrity announcers. A silent auction, including a Rob Ray autographed jersey and other autographed items, will be held during the game. The Amerks’ Moose and the Sabres’ Sabretooth will entertain the audience, and players will be available for autographs between the periods.

“There are so many great former players living in the Western New York area and we thought it would be a great idea to get them together to help raise money for Golisano Children’s Hospital,” said Craig Charron, a retired Amerk and member of the organizing committee. “It’s not too often that we can assemble players of this magnitude to meet in a charity event and all the players are looking forward to being involved.”

Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for children 12 and under and are available at ESL Sports Centre. A youth hockey team special, available to any youth sports team, costs $60 for 20 tickets. This program is also available to any youth sports team. Hospitality tickets, which cost $50 each and include food and drinks, give access to the QCI hospitality room overlooking the ice for business clients. For more information on ticket specials, raffle donations and volunteer opportunities, call (585) 273-5948.

Sabres Players scheduled to appear: #2 Richie Dunn, #3 Grant Ledyard, #9 Morris Titanic, #13 Yuri Khmylev, #16 Ric Seiling, #17 Fred Stanfield, #24 Bill Hajt, #27 Larry Playfair (IR), #27 Wilf Paiement, #32 Rob Ray and possibly #18 Danny Gare.

Amerks Players scheduled to appear: #2 Daryl Drader, #3 Ron Schock, #4 Ray Maluta, #5 Craig Charron, #7 Geordie Robertson, #9 Jody Gage, #10 Steve Langdon, #10 Scott Metcalf, #12 Brian McKinnon, #13 Jim “Weed” Pettie, #14 Mike Zanutto, #15 Chris Palin, #16 Chris Palmer, #27 Dan Frawley, #29 Vinnie Pizzo, #36 Dane Jackson, #38 Jim Wiemer, #39 Steve Bartlett, Greg Warren and Sam Paolini.

Media Contact

Public Relations Department

(585) 275-3676

article hit counter