Dr. Sharon Elad Honored

Jun. 6, 2017

Dr. Sharon EladDr. Sharon Elad, chair, Eastman Institute for Oral Health’s Oral Medicine Department, was recognized recently as an Honorary Diplomate by the American Board of Oral Medicine (ABOM) during the annual American Academy of Oral Medicine Conference in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Elad is among the inaugural class of Honorary Diplomates, a new designation by the ABOM in order to recognize those with outstanding contributions to the field over many years.

“There are amazingly qualified oral medicine specialists, such as Dr. Elad, who unfortunately aren’t eligible to become a formal Diplomate because they received their specialty training in an international academic institution, not an American, Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) certified institution,” explained Dr. Douglas Peterson, ABOM president. “We’re very proud and excited to recognize individuals who are internationally esteemed and have exemplary skills in education, patient care and research.”

Dr. Elad, who holds appointment as a professor of Dentistry at the University of Rochester, has nearly 20 years of experience.  She is widely published and leads several international research collaborations. She is a member of the American Academy of Oral Medicine. Likewise, she is an active member of the Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer/International Society of Oral Oncology (MASCC/ISOO) and serves as chair of the MASCC/ISOO Mucositis Study Group.

Previously, she held leading roles in Oral Medicine at Hebrew University – Hadassah School of Dental Medicine, and served as chair of the Israeli Society of Oral Medicine for eight years as well as the General Secretary for the International Society of Oral Oncology, also for eight years.

Honorary Diplomate certificate“Dr. Elad has been working successfully inter-professionally with other disciplines of health care and cancer care – where she is especially talented, forward thinking, hardworking and very bright,” added Dr. Peterson. “She channels her time and energy very well into advancing oral medicine within the dental medicine profession.  She’s very good at connecting with people and delivering a high quality product.”

Other Honorary Diplomates recognized this year are Dr. Peter Lockhart, former Chairman of the Department of Oral Medicine at Carolinas Medical Center, in Charlotte, North Carolina, Dr. James Little, Professor Emeritus, Oral Diagnosis and Radiology, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Dr. Jerry Bouquot, past President of the American Board of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology, Dr. Athena Papas, Head of the Division of Oral Medicine at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine in Boston, Massachusetts.