New York State Health Emergency Preparedness Coalition

New York State Health Emergency Preparedness Coalition

History of Regional Resource Centers & NYSDOH Hospital Preparedness Program

In 2002–2003, Federal funding was allocated to support planning and infrastructure development to prepare New York State healthcare systems to respond to bioterrorism, outbreaks of infectious diseases, and other public health threats and emergencies. This resulted in the identification of 8 Regional Resource Centers (RRC) strategically located in the following tertiary care/trauma centers across NYS:  Erie County Medical Center, University of Rochester Medical Center/Strong Memorial Hospital, University Hospital/SUNY Upstate, Champlain Valley Physicians Hospital,  Albany Medical Center, Westchester Medical Center, North Shore University Hospital, University Hospital Stony Brook.

Between 2003 and 2012, the 8 RRCs coordinated planning and developed the infrastructure needed to prepare healthcare systems within their respective region for all hazards and public health emergencies.  Each RRC developed a regional inventory of resources, identified and addressed workforce training needs, assisted in exercises to identify and address gaps in regional disaster response capability and enhanced/refined plans to improve surge capacity in the regions. This included outreach to planning partners at hospitals, home care, long-term care, local health departments, emergency management services, emergency management offices and other allied support organizations.

Introducing Health Emergency Preparedness Coalitions

HEPC MapIn 2012, the federal guidance required states to develop healthcare coalitions. NYSDOH Office of Health Emergency Preparedness (OHEP) introduced a revised structure reducing the 8 RRC regions to 4 coalition areas. The 4 Health Emergency Preparedness Coalitions (HEPC) are led by theNYSDOH Regional Office Director.  The core focus of these HEPCs is on integrating and coordinating Emergency Support Function (ESF)-8 activities as they apply to healthcare and public health emergency planning and response. The 8 RRCs were renamed Regional Training Centers (RTC) with a revised mission to focus on workforce training needs.

Western Region Health Emergency Preparedness Coalition

WNY HEPC MapThe Western Region (WR) HEPC coordinates with regional partners in the following counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.

The Western Region is further divided into two subregions with support and training coordination provided by Regional Training Centers (previously known as the Regional Resource Centers) out of the University of Rochester Medical Center (URMC - FLRTC) and Erie County Medical Center (ECMC RTC).

This website is maintained by the Finger Lakes RTC to support the WRHEPC.


How Are We Doing?

We'd love to hear from you! Please send us your feedback.