Health Encyclopedia

Wheat Allergy Diet

General guidelines for wheat allergy

The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid all foods or products containing the food to which you are allergic. Wheat is found in many foods. To avoid foods that contain wheat, you should read food labels.

Foods

Allowed

Not allowed

Beverages

Coffee, tea, fruit juices, decaffeinated coffee, carbonated beverages, all milks, cocoa

Cereal beverages, coffee substitutes

Beverages made from wheat products: beer, ale, root beer

Instant chocolate drink mixes

Breads & cereals

Ry-Krisp, rice wafers

Pure corn, rice, arrowroot, barley, potato, or rye bread made without wheat flour or wheat products

Cornmeal, cornstarch, soybean flour, barley flour, oat flour, rice flour, potato starch, arrowroot flour

Oatmeal cream of rice, puffed rice, or other cereals made from pure corn, oats, or rice to which no wheat has been added

Whole wheat, enriched, or white bread, rolls, or bread crumbs

Graham or gluten bread

Sweet rolls, muffins, French toast, waffles, pancakes, dumplings, bread stuffing, rusk, popovers

Prepared mixes for pancakes, waffles, biscuits, breads, and rolls

Cornbread, potato, or soybean bread unless made without wheat flour or wheat products

Cereals made from farina, wheat, or those with wheat products or malt added

Pretzels, crackers

Semolina, spelt, or triticale

Desserts

Custards, Bavarian creams

Oatmeal, arrowroot, rice, or rye cookies without wheat products

Cornstarch, tapioca, or rice puddings

Fruit ices, meringues

Gelatin

Cakes, pastries, commercial frosting, icing, ice cream, sherbet, ice cream cones

Cookies, prepared mixes, or packaged pudding

Graham crackers, donuts

Eggs

Eggs prepared any way

Souffles or creamed eggs made with wheat products

Fats

Butter, margarine, animal, or vegetable fats and oils, cream

Salad dressings or gravy

Any salad dressing or gravy thickened with wheat flour or products

Fruit

All fresh, canned, dried, or frozen fruits, and fruit juices

Strained fruits with added cereals

Meat, fish, poultry

Baked, broiled, boiled, roasted or fried: beef, veal, pork, ham, chicken, turkey, lamb, or fish

"All meat" hotdogs or wieners or luncheon meats

All breaded or floured meats, meats containing filler, such as meatloaf, or prepared meat patties

Milk & milk products

Milk, buttermilk, yogurt, cheese, some cottage cheese

Malted milk, milk drink containing powdered wheat cereal or products

Cottage cheese with modified starch or other wheat-containing ingredients

Potatoes

White and sweet potatoes

Rice

Scalloped potatoes

Noodles, or other pasta products prepared with wheat or semolina flour

Soup

Clear bouillon, consomme, or broth

Homemade soups made without wheat products

Cream soups unless made without wheat flour

Soups with noodles or other pasts

Soup thickened with wheat flour

Sweets

Corn syrup, honey, jams, jellies, molasses, sugar

Chocolates, malted chocolate, candy with cereal extract

Vegetables

All fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables, and vegetable juices

Vegetables combined with wheat products

Breaded or floured vegetables

Miscellaneous

Salt, chili powder, condiments, flavoring extracts, herbs, nuts, olives, pickles, popcorn, peanut butter

Malt products, Worcestershire sauce, gravies thickened with wheat flour

Monosodium glutamate (MSG), soy sauce

Information for using wheat substitutes

1-cup wheat flour equals:

  • 1 cup rye meal

  • 1 to 1 1/4 cups rye flour

  • 1 cup potato flour

  • 1 1/3 cups rolled oats or oat flour

  • 1/2 cup potato four plus 1/2 cup rye flour

  • 5/8 cup potato starch

  • 5/8 cup rice flour plus 1/3 cup rye flour

How to read a label for an wheat-free diet

Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

  • Bran

  • Bread crumbs

  • Bulgur

  • Cereal extract

  • Couscous

  • Cracker meal

  • Durum

  • Einkorn

  • Emmer

  • Farina

  • Flour (enriched, graham, high-gluten, high-protein, whole-wheat)

  • Gluten

  • Matzoh, matzoh meal 

  • Pasta

  • Seitan

  • Semolina

  • Spelt

  • Vital gluten

  • What berries, bran, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouted, starch

Other possible sources of wheat or wheat products

Ingredients that may contain wheat:

  • Gelatinized starch

  • Gum

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

  • Kamut

  • Modified food starch

  • Modified starch

  • Natural flavoring

  • Soy sauce

  • Starch

  • Surimi

  • Vegetable starch



Medical Reviewers:

  • Holloway, Beth, RN, M.Ed.
  • MMI board-certified, academically affiliated clinician