Judith F. Baumhauer, M.D., M.P.H., was installed as president of the American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society, the first time in its 42-year history that a woman is leading the professional organization. One of the nation’s few female professors of foot and ankle surgery, Baumhauer also was the first female faculty member appointed to the URMC Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation.

Nancy M. Bennett, M.D., director of the Center for Community Health and professor of Medicine and Public Health Sciences, has been named to the federal Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, part of the CDC. Her term will continue through June 2015.

Thomas L. Campbell, M.D., William Rocktaschel Professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine, was named president-elect of the Association of Departments of Family Medicine in a term extending through 2014. Campbell, who has served as program chair and member-at-large on the Association’s Board of Directors, is nationally recognized for his work on the role of the family in medical practice and the influence of the family on health.

Leway Chen, M.D., M.P.H., associate professor Medicine and director of the URMC Program in Heart Failure and Transplantation, was elected to the Board of Governors for the American College of Cardiology. During his three-year term, Chen will serve as president of the New York Cardiological Society and then president of the ACC’s New York Chapter.

Additionally, Chen was the area’s first physician to earn certification in advanced heart failure and transplantation from the American Board of Internal Medicine. Certification comes after a rigorous review, which includes a detailed assessment of each cardiologist’s skills, ethical behavior and commitment to continuous education and improvement. He joined the Medical Center in 1999 and has helped establish and build the only heart transplant program in upstate New York. 

William J. Hall, M.D., Paul Fine Professor of Medicine, Oncology and Pediatrics, and director of the Center for Healthy Aging based at Highland Hospital., has been named to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) by Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office. MedPAC advises Congress on payments to health plans participating in the Medicare Advantage program and providers in Medicare’s traditional fee-for-service programs.

Cyril Meyerowitz, D.D.S., director of Eastman Institute for Oral Health, was presented the Foundations of Excellence in Research Award from the New York State Dental Foundation. The award recognizes his commitment to applying creative, science-based methods to foster greater understanding of and to improve overall oral health. Professor and chair of Dentistry since 1991, Meyerowitz has provided 20 years of leadership to Eastman Dental. After the merger with URMC in 1998, he was instrumental in establishing one integrated entity, the Eastman Institute for Oral Health, responsible for research, education and clinical care in dentistry at URMC. 

Arthur J. Moss, M.D., professor of Cardiology and world-renowned expert on electrical disturbances of the heart, received the Heart Rhythm Society’s Distinguished Scientist Award the organization’s 32nd Annual Scientific Sessions. The award is given annually to an individual who has made major contributions to the understanding and treatment of heart rhythm disorders. Over a career spanning five decades, Moss has made some of the most important and long-lasting discoveries in the treatment and prevention of cardiac arrhythmias, irregular rhythms that are associated with increased hospitalizations and death; sudden cardiac death; heart failure; and Long QT syndrome.

Regis O’Keefe, M.D., Ph.D., Marjorie Strong Wehle Professor in Orthopaedics and chair of the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation, has been appointed to the prestigious NIH Council of Councils. The Council was established to advise the NIH director on priorities, strategic planning, and policy matters that extend beyond the research agenda of any specific area of health or medicine.

Roger M. Oskvig, M.D., associate professor of Medicine, was recognized with the inaugural WXXI President’s Award, following the production of the 100th episode of “Second Opinion,” the national health series produced by the local PBS station. The award is given to a community partner who exemplifies the spirit of collaboration toward the WXXI mission, makes a contribution to WXXI programming, and demonstrates exceptional commitment, creativity and leadership. As the program’s medical producer, Oskvig identifies and researches every case presented on the series, as well as providing educational content and medical oversight.

J. Daniel Subtelny, D.D.S., earned the Jarvie-Burkhart Award, the New York State Dental Association’s highest honor, in recognition of great service rendered to mankind in dentistry. Subtelny is widely regarded as one of the world’s foremost educators in orthodontics. After serving as chairman of the Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics Division at Eastman Dental for 50 years, he has returned to that role, as well as program director.

Four URMC programs have earned recognition in the Top 50 of US News & World Report’s “Best Hospitals” ranking. Included are: Gynecology (32nd best), Urology (39th best), Nephrology (42nd best), and Neurology and Neurosurgery, which are ranked together (48th best). URMC and Roswell Park Cancer Institute are the only upstate New York hospitals with programs scored in the Top 50.

In addition to the nationally ranked programs, eight URMC specialties were listed as “top performing” programs, meaning that their scores were nearly at the level of the nationally ranked, Top 50 programs. These include cancer, cardiology and heart surgery, diabetes and endocrinology, ear, nose and throat, gastroenterology, geriatrics, orthopaedics, and pulmonology

Golisano Children’s Hospital has been ranked among the nation’s best children’s hospitals for neonatology, pediatric orthopaedics, neurology and neurosurgery in U.S. News & World Report’s America’s Best Children’s Hospitals.

The Hospital’s NICU is a level IIID facility – the highest rated by the American Academy of Pediatrics and state designation – the only one of its kind in the Finger Lakes region. Its reputation for excellence in Child Neurology and Pediatric Neurosurgery brings children and families from across the country for the treatment of Tourette syndrome and neurodegenerative disorders, and its Pediatric Orthopaedic division has expanded exponentially to meet demand for its highly specialized care of scoliosis and spinal and ribcage deformities.

URMC scientists are among the world’s top researchers in the area of Parkinson disease, according to a recent study. Karl Kieburtz, M.D., M.P.H., and Kim Tieu, Ph.D., were cited in a recent study published in the Journal of Parkinson’s Disease, done by Aaron Sorensen of GE Healthcare and publishing consultant David Weedon.

University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry Dean Mark B. Taubman, M.D., announced the appointment of two new associate deans:

Strong Consult and Transfer Center

Toll-free (800) 499-9298
(585) 275-4999