The Comprehensive Breast Care Center (CBCC) at the James P. Wilmot Cancer Center, and the Highland Breast Imaging Center at Red Creek have been granted a three-year/full accreditation designation by the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC), a program administered by the American College of Surgeons. Accreditation by the NAPBC is only given to those centers that undergo a rigorous evaluation process and review of their performance and demonstrate the highest level of quality breast care. In October 2010, the CBCC was named a Center of Excellence for Breast Imaging, the pinnacle of recognition from the American College of Radiology. The CBCC is one of only 12 such accredited institutions in New York state and the only one in the greater Rochester and Western New York regions.

Bilal Ahmed, M.D., associate chief of Medicine at Highland Hospital and associate professor of Medicine, has been named a fellow in the Royal College of Physicians of the United Kingdom. Fellowship is the highest level of membership of the Royal College. He becomes one of only about 440 U.S. physicians to be granted fellowship. To become a fellow, doctors need to distinguish themselves in the practices of medicine, medical science or medical literature, and they must have made a significant contribution in one or more of these areas.

Dirk Bohmann, Ph.D., an accomplished molecular biologist and geneticist, received the 2010 Davey Memorial Award for outstanding cancer research at James P. Wilmot Cancer Center’s15th annual Scientific Symposium in November 2010. Bohmann is director of the Center for Genomics and Systems Biology and the Graduate Program for Genetics, Genomics and Development and a professor of Biomedical Genetics. The Davey Memorial Award was established in memory of R. Bruce Davey, who was treated for cancer before his death in 1996.

Kenneth E. DeHaven, M.D., professor in the Department of Orthopaedics, received the Cleveland Clinic’s Distinguished Alumnus Award at the 2010 Cleveland Clinic Alumni Reunion in September. The orthopaedic surgeon, researcher and educator has advanced the fields of orthopaedic sports medicine and orthopaedics and is a pioneer of arthroscopic surgery, earning a national reputation for excellence as a clinician and team physician for high school, college and professional sports teams, according to the Cleveland Clinic Alumni Association.

Three Highland Hospital physicians achieved certification in Hospice and Palliative Medicine: Egan Allen, M.D., senior instructor of Medicine and geriatric hospitalist; Joseph Nicholas, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine and is a hospitalist; and Corey Romesser, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine and medical director of Highland’s Acute Care for Elders Unit. They join three other physicians as the core team for Highland’s Palliative Care Consultation Service.

Cyril Meyerowitz, D.D.S., M.S., director of Eastman Institute for Oral Health, received the Seventh District Dental Society’s Award of Merit in recognition of his significant contributions and dedication to members of dental professions and to the community at large. As professor and chair of Dentistry, Meyerowitz has provided 20 years of leadership to Eastman Dental, and was instrumental in establishing it as one integrated entity that is responsible for research, education and clinical care in dentistry at URMC. 

John T. Queenan Jr., M.D., received the American Society of Reproductive Medicine Distinguished Service Award for 2010. A reproductive endocrinologist with the Strong Fertility Center, Queenan was cited for contributions in reproductive medicine coding, which is critical for ensuring that payments accurately reflect and cover costs incurred while delivering care.

Strong Consult and Transfer Center

Toll-free (800) 499-9298
(585) 275-4999