2011 News

2015 2014 2013 2012 2011

  • October 11, 2011

    Biophysics, Structural and Computational Biology Graduate Program Holds Annual Retreat

    Faculty members, students, staff, and postdoctoral fellows attend a presentation at the 2011 BSCB Retreat.

    The Biophysics, Structural and Computational Biology Retreat took place on Monday, October 10, 2011 at the Memorial Art Gallery in Rochester, NY. There was a great turnout for the event with presentations by postdoctoral fellow's and students from the Dumont, Mathews, Miller, Miao, Kielkopf and Wedekind labs.

    In addition to those talks, Dr. Tom Gunter who recently retired from the Biophysics program gave a retrospective talk of the history of the Biophysics program. There was also a Career Panel Discussion featuring Dr. Lea Michel (alumnus, Dr. Kara Bren's lab) from the Rochester Institute of Technology, Dr. Thomas Gaborski who is the President and CEO of SiMPore Inc. as well as Dr. Jack Daiss, Consultant and Chief Scientific Officer at Codevax. The retreat also featured over 20 poster presentations.

  • October 6, 2011

    Biochemistry and Biophysics Graduate Students Receive Fellowship Awards

    Graduate Students, Sarah Amie (far left) and Dejun Lin (third from left) after receiving their Graduate Fellowship Awards.

    At this year's opening convocation on October 5, two graduate students from the department of Biochemistry & Biophysics received Graduate Fellowship's. Dejun Lin, a Ph.D. student in the Biophysics, Structural and Computational Biology graduate program, was awarded the Leon L. Miller Graduate Fellowship. This fellowship, established by the Miller family, honors Dr. Leon Miller, Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry & Biophysics, for his contributions to science and the School of Medicine and Dentistry. It is awarded anually to a student with interest in developing a biophysics-related research career.

    Sarah Amie, a Ph.D. student in the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology graduate program, was awarded the Elmer H. Stotz Graduate Fellowship. This fellowship, established by the Stotz family to honor Dr. Elmer Stotz, Professor Emeritus and former Chair of the Department of Biochemistry, is awarded to a Ph.D. student in biochemistry.

  • May 13, 2011

    Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics Holds Annual Awards Ceremony

    Department Chair, Robert Bambara, Ph.D. and recent Biochemistry & Biophysics Graduates.

    The department of Biochemistry & Biophysics held its annual awards ceremony to celebrate those students that received their doctoral degree this year. Awards were also given out to various students and faculty members for their respective research and teaching contributions. The following awards were given:

    Walter Bloor Award for Excellent Ph.D. Thesis
    Keith Connolly and Christopher Hine
    George Metzger Award for Excellence in Biophysics Ph.D. Thesis
    Jessica Snyder
    Marvel-Dare Nutting Award Recognizing an Outstanding Biochemistry Ph.D.
    Tamara Caterino
    William Neuman Award in Biophysics
    Paul Black
    William Neuman Travel Awards
    Paul Black, He Fang, Nicholas Leioatts, and Wenhua Wang
    Excellent Student Seminar Presentations
    Wen Shen, Karyn Schmidt, Krystle McLaughlin, and Nicholas Leioatts
    Faculty Teaching Awards
    David Mathews, Ph.D. and Lynne Maquat, Ph.D.
    Staff Recognition Award
    Melissa Vera


Stay up to date with the Biophysics, Structural & Computational Biology (BSCB) by subscribing to our news feed