Skip to main content
Explore URMC

Flaum Eye Institute Logo


Featured Speakers

Snell Memorial Lecturer, Julia A. Haller, M.D.

Julia A. Haller, MD, is a Professor of Ophthalmology and Department Chair at Thomas Jefferson University and serves as Ophthalmologist-In-Chief at Wills Eye Hospital, where she is also the William Tasman, M.D. Endowed Chair. She is recognized as a vanguard in her field and is a Principal investigator or Co-investigator on numerous grants dealing with treatment of cystoid macular edema, age-related macular degeneration, submacular surgery, diabetic retinopathy, retinopathy of prematurity, retinal venous occlusive disease and retinal infectious diseases.

Dr. Haller has authored or co-authored more than 300 peer-reviewed manuscripts and textbook chapters and is sought throughout the world for her expertise. She has delivered numerous keynote lectures at conferences including at the American Academy of Ophthalmology.  Dr. Haller is president of the Retina Society, past president of the American Society of Retina Specialists, and president-elect of the Board of Trustees of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology. She is an editorial board member of the publications RETINA, Retinal Physician, Retina Times, Ocular Surgery News, Retina Today, Ophthalmology Times, EyeWorld, and Evidence-Based Eye Care. She currently sits on the Boards of the ARVO Foundation for Eye Research, Women in Retina, the Foundation for The History of Women in Medicine, the Harvard Medical School Alumni Council, and the Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Association.

Dr. Haller received her Medical Degree from Harvard Medical School. She went on to complete her residency in ophthalmology and a retina fellowship at Johns Hopkins University at the Wilmer Eye Institute. She has been named to Castle and Connolly’s “Top Doctors” for seven consecutive years.

Billitier Family Distinguished Visiting Professor, Terrence P. O'Brien, M.D.

Terrence P. O'Brien, MD, is the Charlotte Breyer Rodgers Chair in Ophthalmology and Director of the Refractive Surgery Service, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at Palm Beach Gardens. He specializes in refractive surgery and corneal infectious disease. His research interests include refractive surgery techniques, the avoidance and management of complications of refractive surgery, ocular infectious diseases, and ocular microbiology.

Dr. O’Brien has written and contributed to numerous published ophthalmology articles, chapters and books throughout his career. He is past president of the Ocular Microbiology & Immunology Group and serves on the executive boards of the International Conference of Eye Infections. He is an active member of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons. He has repeatedly been selected as one of a select group of top doctors and best ophthalmologists in the United States. He has served as senior assistant editor of the prestigious Journal of Refractive Surgery and past editor-in-chief of Contemporary Ophthalmology.

Dr. O'Brien attended medical school at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. He received his residency training in ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins University’s Wilmer Eye Institute and completed a fellowship in cornea and external disease at Baylor College of Medicine’s Cullen Eye Institute.

Steven Arshinoff, M.D., F.R.C.S.C.

Steven Arshinoff, M.D., F.R.C.S.C., Is Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Toronto and Director of York Finch Eye Associates. He is regarded as an expert in cataract and refractive surgery with a special interest in antibiotic prophylaxis during ocular surgery, the development of ophthalmic viscosurgical devices and simultaneous bi-lateral cataract surgery.  Dr. Arshrinoff is the author of more than 275 peer-reviewed publications and 18 chapters in medical textbooks.

Dr. Arshinoff received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas, and then attended the University of Toronto for his residency in ophthalmology. He is the designer of the Ontario Medical Association - Canadian National Institute for the Blind (OMA-CNIB) Mobile Medical Eye Care Unit (MECU), and is the medical director of the MECU program, one of the most successful medical outreach programs in the world. He is also the founding president, of the Canadian Society for Cataract and Refractive Surgery, the founding president of the Eye Foundation of Canada (formerly The Toronto Eye Foundation), and a founding member, and current member of the executive board, of the Toronto Ophthalmological Society.

David Friedman, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D.

David Friedman, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., is the Alfred Sommer Professor of Ophthalmology and the Director of the Dana Center for Preventive Ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute. His clinical interests include angle-closure glaucoma, cataracts, glaucoma and comprehensive medical and surgical ophthalmology. His research interests span angle-closure glaucoma epidemiology and treatment; glaucoma therapy; intraocular pressure monitoring; health services research; pediatric refractive errors; glaucoma screening; ophthalmic epidemiology of eye disease; diabetic retinopathy screening in underserved communities.

Dr. Friedman received his medical degree from Harvard Medical School and obtained a Ph.D. in epidemiology from Johns Hopkins.  He completed his residency at Wills Eye Hospital in Philadelphia, PA, and served as a glaucoma fellow with Dr. Harry Quigley at the Wilmer Eye Institute. He is the recipient of various awards from the National Institutes of Health, Research to Prevent Blindness and the American Geriatric Society. He co-edited a definitive book on angle-closure glaucoma and has published nearly 250 articles. He also plays a leadership role in the World Glaucoma Association and the American Glaucoma Society, and recently became the senior ophthalmologist for Helen Keller International, a large non-profit organization dedicated to alleviating blindness worldwide.

Scott Olitsky, M.D.

Scott Olitsky, M.D., Section Chief of Ophthalmology at Children’s Mercy, Kansas City, and Professor of Pediatric Ophthalmology at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine. His clinical interests include strabismus, amblyopia, pediatric keratoconus, cataract and pediatric glaucoma. His research interests include the surgical treatment of pediatric glaucoma and he has participated in numerous clinical trails through the Pediatric Eye Disease Investigators Group.

Dr. Olitsky earned his medical degree from Thomas Jefferson University and did his residency in ophthalmology at SUNY Buffalo. He completed a fellowship in pediatric ophthalmology at Wills Eye Hospital in Philadelphia. He has published nearly 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts and is a fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Robert Sergott, M.D.

Robert Sergott, M.D., is Professor of Ophthalmology at Thomas Jefferson University and heads the Nuero-ophthalmology Division at Wills Eye Hospital in Philadelphia. Dr. Sergott graduated from Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and completed his ophthalmology residency at Wills Eye Hospital. He went on to complete multiple fellowships including Neuro-immunology and Multiple Sclerosis at the University of Pennsylvania and Neuro-ophthalmology at University of Miami’s Bascom Palmer Eye Institute.

His research interests include a wide range of treatments related pharmacological treatments of nuero-ophthalmic disease and he has a particular interest using advanced imaging, such as optical coherence tomography, in the diagnosis and treatment in neuro-ophthalmology. He authored, or co-authored, more than 100 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters and delivered numerous lectures throughout North America.