Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC

Pediatrics / General Pediatrics Division / National Leadership

National Leadership

Our Faculty in National Positions

We are perhaps unique among university-affiliated departments of pediatrics in that 3 of our 4 last chairs were generalists of national renown - Robert J. Haggerty, M.D. Emeritus, widely regarded as a founder of general academic pediatrics, as well as Robert A. Hoekelman, M.D., Emeritus and Elizabeth A. McAnarney, M.D.

Constance D. Baldwin, Ph.D.

  • Member, Board of Directors, Academic Pediatric Association
  • Chair, Education Committee
  • Director, PAS Educational Scholars Program
  • Team Member, APA Educational Guidelines for Pediatric Residency
  • Past Chair, Faculty Development Special Interest Group

Stephen R. Cook, M.D., M.P.H, F.A.A.P.

  • Associate Director for the Institute for Healthy Childhood Weight for the American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Member, Executive Committee, Provisional Section on Obesity, American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Member, Membership Committee & Advocacy Task force, The Obesity Society

Lynn Garfunkel, M.D.

  • Education Committee, Academic Pediatric Association (APA)
  • CORNET—Continuity Clinic Research Network
  • Curriculum Committee, Association of Pediatric Program Directors APPD

Jeffrey Kaczorowski, M.D.

  • Principal Investigator and Director, Community Pediatrics Training Initiative, American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Residency Review and Redesign in Pediatrics (R3P) Project Committee, American Board of Pediatrics

Kenneth M. McConnochie, M.D.

  • Nominating Committee, Academic Pediatric Association (APA)
  • American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
    • District II Member, Executive Committee Treasurer
    • Chapter I, District II Member, Executive Committee Vice President
    • Committee on Child Health Financing Chairman
    • ACQIP—EQIPP Strategic Planning Committee Chairman
    • Pediatrician Reimbursement Advisory Team, Member
    • Private Sector Advocacy Advisory Committee, Member
    • Access to Care Subcommittee
    • ADHD Project Advisory Committee
    • Immunization Advisory Team
    • Mental Health Task Force
    • AAP representative to the Ambulatory Care Quality Association
    • AAP representative to the American Board of Pediatrics Task Force On Maintenance of Certification in Pediatrics
    • Chairman, Pediatric Advisory Group, New York State Department of Health

Cynthia Rand, M.D., M.P.H.

  • Member, National ACS HPV Vaccine Roundtable

Lawrence Nazarian, M.D.

  • PREP Advisory Group & Committee on Pediatric Education, American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)