Skip to main content
Explore URMC

menu

How to Apply

The University of Rochester selects all applicants at the PL-1 level through the National Residency Match Program (NRMP). Our NRMP program number is 1511320C0

There are no PL-1, PL-2, or PL-3 openings for the current academic year. We are accepting applications for 2022-2023 academic year, through ERAS only, beginning September 15.

For More Information

For more information, you may contact our program coordinator, Brooke Steinbronn by:

If you are applying to both the Pediatrics and Medicine/Pediatrics training programs at the University of Rochester, you will need to convey that to both program coordinators so a single, joint interview day can be arranged.

Application Deadline

The deadline for submitting an application is December 31.

ERAS

We accept applications through Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) system only.

  • Interested applicants should submit a complete application and at least three letters of recommendation to ERAS
  • We accept USMLE and/or COMLEX board scores

International Medical School Graduates

We sponsor J-1 visas only and only if all other criteria are met.

Requirements include:

  • Your school is approved for listing by the World Health Organization
  • You graduated within the past 5 years
  • You possess a valid ECFMG certificate or have a full and unrestricted license. We accept the ECFMG pathways in lieu of Step 2 CS.
  • You meet the New York State “12 Week Rule”

For additional details, see Applicant Eligibility Requirements.

 

Interview Dates

  • Friday, October 22
  • Tuesday, October 26
  • Friday, October 29
  • Tuesday, November 2
  • Tuesday, November 9
  • Tuesday, November 16
  • Friday, November 19
  • Tuesday, November 30
  • Tuesday, December 7
  • Tuesday, December 14
  • Friday, December 17
  • Tuesday, January 4
  • Friday, January 7
  • Tuesday, January 11

Once you are selected for an interview, you will be notified by email through Thalamus and you may choose an interview date from those listed above (if available).

Interview Information & Schedule

  • Interview days will be virtual this year and will take place in three-hour increments.
  • Additional information will be communicated to interviewees when it becomes available.