Intensive Care Unit

ICU Nurses Earn Beacon Award

The Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence is an award given by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) to recognize the nation's top hospital critical care units.

This national recognition highlights Highland's accomplishments in fostering the highest standards of quality patient care as well as healthy work environments.

Criteria for receiving a Beacon Award include:

  • Innovation/excellence in recruitment and retention, education, training, and mentoring
  • Evidence-based practice and research
  • Patient outcomes
  • Creating and promoting healing environments
  • Leadership and organizational ethics


For more information about the AACN, visit




The Intensive Care Unit is proud to have received the prestigious Beacon Award in recognition of outstanding critical care nursing.
Learn more.