Skip to main content
Explore URMC
Eastman Institute for Oral Health / Research / Awards / Past Awards Winners

Research Awards

Each year, the Rochester Section of the American Association for Dental Research gives Scientific Merit Awards. Research projects are presented in either poster or verbal format. The following awards are given based on the project and the presentation.

The Michael G. Buonocore Award

Dr. Cindy Dodo, a PhD student who is a visiting researcher, was given Cindy DodoThe Michael G. Buonocore Award, for outstanding scientific merit among oral and poster presentations by degree candidates. Her presentation was titled “Titanium Particles Affect Early Stages of Osseointegration.”

The Basil G. Bibby Award

The Basil G. Bibby Award, given for outstanding scientific merit among Naomepresentations by non-degree candidates was given to Dr. Namie Kong (Pedo ’15), for her paper “Dental Treatment Completion: Mobile vs. Fixed-Site Clinics.”

Dr. Gerald Graser Award

A new award was established this year to recognize outstanding clinical case series and/or case reports that describe original, innovative and/or evidence based clinical treatments. The award, named after Dr. Gerald Graser, former chair and program director of the EIOH Prosthodontics program, was given to two prosthodontist residents, Drs. Erna Einarsdottir (Prostho ’15) and Graser Award winnersJamie Yum (Prostho ’17) for their paper, “Importance of Caries-Risk Assessment in the Prosthodontic Treatment Planning.”

Other Research Award News:

The Basil Bibby Fellowship Award

This award was first established to maintain Dr. Bibby’s legacy. He strived Winners of Basil Fellowshipto lead and help early research investigators into productive and meaningful careers. He advocated for additional education preparation, supporting post-graduate experience and showed how research causes one to focus and think, and how it can benefit many others. Dr. David Fraser and Dr. Neelam Jadeja are the 2015 recipients.

Dr. Heng Lin received a Young Investigator Award from the Worldwide Chinese Association for Dental Research.

Dr. William Bowen Receives Distinguished Mentoring Award from the American Association for Dental Research.