Skip to main content
URMC / Medical Faculty Group

University of Rochester Medical Faculty Group

Over 900 specialist and primary care faculty work in 19 clinical departments of the medical school, according to a distributed model in which Department Chairs, Division Directors and/or Center Directors are responsible for the overall practice activities—clinical, administrative, and financial. This confederation of individual primary care, specialty and subspecialty practices are bound together by a central entity known as University of Rochester Medical Faculty Group (URMFG).

URMFG serves as a central resource for credentialing physicians and negotiating payment rates with third-party payers. It is certified by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), an independent, non-profit organization that certifies physician organizations, and accredits managed care organizations and preferred provider organizations. NCQA’s accreditation program represents the most rigorous standards of their kind.