Skip to main content



Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

The one or two year Trauma and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship is ACGME Accredited and fulfills requirements by the American Board of Surgery for Added Qualifications in Surgical Critical Care Certification after one year.

Advanced Practice Provider Fellowship Program in Critical Care Medicine

The University of Rochester Medical Center Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Critical Care Medicine Fellowship is a twelve month post graduate NP/PA Fellowship program which involves training in all aspects of Critical Care Medicine. This is an intensive clinical program which will prepare NPs and PAs to develop the procedural skills and clinical knowledge necessary for managing critically ill and critically injured patients. The program includes exposure to critically ill and injured patients in each of the adult ICUs (Surgical, Neuromedicine, Cardiovascular, Medical, Burn/Trauma) as well as exposure to a number of specialties caring for critically ill patients. Fellows will work with Critical Care faculty and APPs with a wide variety of expertise in critical care and will be on the cutting edge of health care delivery as they train to work within the University of Rochester Medical Center and its affiliates. It is anticipated that the fellows will show clinical growth, procedural competence and a high level of proficiency in clinical reasoning by the completion of the fellowship.

Continuing Education Programs

As a part of the University of Rochester Medical Center, not only do we focus on patient care, but we also are involved in education. The Kessler Trauma Center is focused on continuing education and training for healthcare professionals as well as education for the general public.

Advance Trauma Life Support (ATLS)

The Advance Trauma Life Support (ATLS) course provides a structure in which the participant will learn to identify injuries associated with major trauma as well as the management skills required for proper early resuscitation and treatment of injured patients. As a national standard in trauma education, the ATLS course provides participants with the basic skills required for timely management of traumatic injuries. 

Course Offerings & Registration <Link to CEL (?)>

Advance Trauma Care for Nurses (ATCN)

The Advance Trauma Care for Nurses (ATCN) course is designed for the experienced trauma nurse working in an emergency department, perioperative area, intensive care, medical and surgical units as well as the pre-hospital setting. Nursing skills practicum stations and patient scenario assessment stations are conducted by ATCN instructors for integration and application of didactic information.

Course Offerings & Registration <Link to CEL (?)>

Rural Trauma Team Development Course (RTTDC)

The Rural Trauma Team Development Course (RTTDC) covers key concepts relative to the facility receiving trauma patients, utilization of available resources, and building regional system relationships. The RTTDC course is deigned to acknowledge challenges facilities may face in managing the initial resuscitation of severely injured patients and resources that may be lacking in regional rural settings.

Target Audience

This educational opportunity is targeted for rural physicians, nursing staff, pre-hospital providers, and other hospital critical personnel involved in injury resuscitation.

Accreditation Statement

The American College of Surgeons is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide Continuing Medical Education (CME) for physicians and Advance Practice Providers (APP).

Contact the trauma program to schedule a course in the Western New York Trauma Region at or (585) 275-8000

Other Educational Programs Offered

  • Trauma Care After Resuscitation (TCAR)
  • Pediatric Care After Resuscitation (PCAR)
  • STEP Conference