Skip to main content

Teaching Scholars

DeWitt Brower

Gentleman Farmer. A patient of Dr. Jules Cohen, Mr. Brower's wife endowed a fellowship in his honor.

Jules Cohen

University of Rochester Medical School class of 1957. Dr. Cohen has spent almost his entire professional life in Rochester as a clinical cardiologist, researcher in cardiac hypertrophy, cardiomyopathies and oxygen transport, but with his main interest in undergraduate medical education. He served for six years as Chair of Medicine at Rochester General Hospital, then 15 years as Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

George W. Corner

A graduate of Johns Hopkins class of 1913, Dr. Corner was a member of the original faculty of the medical school and founding Chair of the Department of Anatomy. He served in Rochester for 17 years. He had strong interests in the history of medicine, leading to the establishment at the school of the George Washington Corner Society of the History of Medicine (now known as the History of Medicine-Corner Society).

George L. Engel

A graduate of Johns Hopkins, Dr. Engel first met John Romano (see below) while training with Soma Weiss in Boston. He followed Romano to Cincinnati and then came with him to Rochester, where he established the Medical Psychiatric Liaison Unit. His work led to formulation of the Biopsychosocial Model which informed the relationships among psychological factors, health and illness, and serves as a basis for research into these interrelationships. Dr. Engel was highly influential in the education of medical students, residents, practicing physicians and researchers in understanding health and illness.

Gilbert B. Forbes

Dr. Gilbert Forbes was Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics and Biophysics and an internationally recognized researcher on body composition, nutrition, and fitness. He received numerous honors and distinctions including the John Howland Award of the American Pediatric Society and the University of Rochester's Arthur Kornberg Research Award. He held a Research Career Development Award from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development from 1962-2003.

Lowell A. Glasgow

Dr. Glasgow was a member of Rochester's Medical School Class of 1957, with interest in pediatrics and infectious diseases. He was an accomplished care-giver, research scientist, and educator. He was also an early participant in studies at Rochester on the influence of psychological factors in the precipitation and course of medical illness, especially infectious diseases. He was recruited and served as the Chair of Pediatrics at the University of Utah Medical Center, where he met an untimely sudden death - at his desk - in his early 40s.

Paul F. Griner

Dr. Griner is a University of Rochester Medical School graduate (1959) who received his residency training in Boston. A hematologist and general internist, Dr. Griner served as head of the General Medicine Unit at Rochester and the general director and chief executive officer of Strong Memorial Hospital from 1984-1995.

Marshall Lichtman

A graduate of the University of Buffalo School of Medicine, Dr. Lichtman completed his residency and fellowship training in hematology at Rochester. He has served as a member of the hematology unit faculty since 1975 and is former head of the unit. He also served as the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research and then Dean of the Medical School from 1990-1995. His wide ranging research in hematology includes studies of red cell function myeloproliferative disorders and bone marrow function, and oxygen transport. He is a distinguished national leader of the American Society of Hematology.

William S. McCann

As an early Chair of the Department of Medicine, Dr. McCann was instrumental in the establishment of URMC Cardiology and heart-lung physiological research. He was involved in the basic and clinical studies related to disorders of the heart and lungs, as well as in the teaching of medical students and residents.

Andrew W. Mellon

This named teaching scholar is in recognition of generous matching funds provided to the Deans Teaching Fellowship endowment by the A.W. Mellon Foundation. They had previously funded the program for several three-year cycles to honor young teaching faculty.

George W. Merck

This named teaching scholar is in recognition of generous funds provided by the G.W. Merck Foundation to match the contribution of the A.W. Mellon Foundation.

John Romano

Founding Chair of the Department of Psychiatry, Dr. Romano was appointed Distinguished University Professor in 1968. He was the second medical school faculty member to be so honored (the first was Professor Wallace Fenn, Chair of Physiology) and recipient of numerous medical and international awards and recognition for his work. Romano's central interest was in the education of medical students, with respect to the contributions of behavioral and psychological factors in health and illness.

Lawrence E. Young

Dr. Young graduated from the University of Rochester Medical School in 1939. He was trained in internal medicine and hematology with a distinguished career in hematology. His research focused on red cell abnormalities and function. He succeeded William S. McCann as Chair of Internal Medicine and served in that capacity for 16 years, introducing distinctive new components into the residency training experience. He was a national leader in academic internal medicine.