Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC
Education / Medical Education / Medical Student Education Newsletter

Medical Student Education Update

February 2020 - Volume V, Issue 3


URSMD Ambassadors Program

The URSMD Ambassadors Program develops relationships and fosters pride between current medical students/trainees and University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry alumni through events, programs, tours, volunteering and more. In addition to increasing student/trainee presence at alumni events, the program educates current students/trainees about the variety of professional opportunities available in medicine.

Below is a list of SMD School Ambassadors.

Class of 2020                     
Ramya Kaushik
Alap Patel
Brett Teplitz
Class of 2021                     
Stephen Powell 
Michelle Prong
Class of 2022                      
Anna Gershten 
Jessica Hubert
Cindy Jiao
Sara Peterson
Class of 2023                      
Caroline Maretz

SMD Final Class Exercise and Commencement

School of Medicine Final Class exercise will take place on Friday, May 15 at 10:30 a.m. at Eastman Theatre, Kilbourn Hall located at 26 Gibbs Street, in the Main Building of the Eastman School of Music (directly off the School's Main Hall). Students are encouraged to bring their family to this prestigious student and faculty award ceremony.

School of Medicine commencement exercises will be held on Friday, May 15 at 4 p.m. at the Eastman Theater. This year's keynote commencement speaker is David S. Guzick, MD, PhD. Dr. Guzick is a former senior vice president for health affairs at the University of Florida and president of UF Health. He also served as board chair for both UF Health Shands Hospital and UF Health Jacksonville. From 2002 to 2009, Dr. Guzick was dean of the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. In addition to serving as dean, he was principal investigator for Rochester's National Institutes of Health Clinical and Translational Science Award. We welcome you to be part of the platform party, please contact Diane Frank, Director of Student Services at (585) 275-7923.

Alumni News

Congratulations to URSMD alum, Jamie Tyrell (MD, '15) who appeared on Jeopardy this past October. Jamie was on two episodes of the game show. View a preview on Facebook.

Congratulations to Sthuthi David '12, '17M (MD) and Lee Loechler on their recent engagement. The unique proposal went viral and was broadcast on several news outlets including Buzzfeed and Good Morning America. View the proposal on YouTube.

Emergency Resources

Public Safety
(585) 275-3333 or x13 at any Blue Light Phone
RESTORE/Rape Crisis
(585) 546-2777
University Health Service
(585) 275-2662
University Counseling Center
(585) 275-3113
River Campus ID Office
(585) 275-3975
Medical Center ID Office
(585) 273-2000
University Parking
(585) 275-4524
(585) 273-4567

Giving Feedback

The following videos, prepared by the Committee on Media Creation for Giving Effective Feedback at URSMD, provide a resource for faculty, residents, preceptors, small group leaders, and tutors in giving feedback to students. 

Teaching Opportunities at the University of Rochester School of Medicine

There are many opportunities to teach medical students at URSMD.  Different formats and options include:

  • Clinical teaching in the clerkships
  • Small Group teaching
  • Serving as a Problem Based Learning tutor
  • Serving as preceptor for 1st and 2nd year medical students in primary care offices.

Please contact the Office of Curriculum and Assessment at 275-0827 to discuss the different options available.

School of Medicine & Dentistry Policies 

The University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry (URSMD) has updated and revised important medical student policies. Students, residents and faculty should be aware of these policies to optimize the learning environment. Policies and Procedures are located, in full, in the URSMD student handbook. The Teacher-Learner polices can be directly accessed by visiting: