Skip to main content
URMC / EHSC / The Weiss Endowment Fund


Support the Weiss Endowment Fund

Weiss Award 2019

From left: Candace Wong, Wendy Calkins, Marti Willit, and Jasmine Reed. Candace and Jasmine were the 2019 Weiss Toxicology Scholars.

Just a few years ago, toxicology alumni, staff, and friends came together to establish the Weiss Endowment Fund, to honor the remarkable career of Dr. Bernard (“Bernie”) Weiss ‘53M (PhD), Faculty Emeritus Environmental Medicine, who passed away January 22, 2018 at the age of 92. 

The purpose of the fund is to strengthen training and research in the Toxicology Training Program by enhancing support of talented future leaders in the field of toxicology, particularly those with an interest in Neurotoxicology.  The fund supports one or more graduate students or post-doctoral fellows per year who are committed to advancing this field. 

The recipient(s) of the fund are known as Weiss Toxicology Scholars in honor of Dr. Bernard Weiss and his inspirational leadership in Neurotoxicology.  In any year that no candidates demonstrate an interest in that particular field, the Weiss Toxicology Scholar(s) may be awarded to one or more outstanding graduate students or post-doctoral fellows in toxicology.

Weiss Endowment Recipients

  • 2021 - Janine Cubello, Jakob Gunderson
  • 2020 - Timothy Anderson, Thivanka Muthumalage
  • 2019 - Candace Wong, Jasmine Reed
  • 2018 - Brian Palmer, Katrina Jew
  • 2017 - Keith Morris-Schaffer, Christina Post
  • 2016 - Carolyn Klocke, Luisa Caetano-Davies
  • 2015 - Mike Rudy, Elissa Wong
  • 2014 - Lisa Prince, Marissa Terry
Weiss Award 2018

From Left: Marti Willit, 2018 Weiss Toxicology Scholars Katrina Jew and Brian Palmer, and Wendy Calkins.

Weiss Award, Keith Morris-Schaffer

Past Weiss Award Winner Keith Morris-Schaffer (2017)

Weiss Award, Christina Post

Past Weiss Award Winner, Christina Post (2017)

To support the Weiss Endowment Fund, please visit our giving pageUnder designation, select other and note the Weiss Endowment Fund.    

For questions about giving to this fund please contact:

Mike Fahy
University of Rochester Advancement
Office: (585) 275-0808