Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Labs / Maquat Lab / Lab Members
 

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Lynne Maquat
Research Interest: RNA metabolism in human cells (nonsense-mediated mRNA decay/mRNA surveillance); influence of pre-mRNA splicing on mRNA translation; Staufen-mediated mRNA decay and Staufen-regulated RNA metabolism; post-transcriptional gene control via lncRNAs and SINEs; miRNA metabolism; Fragile X Mental Retardation Syndrome/Autism; therapeutics of nonsense diseases.

Faculty

Tatsuaki Kurosaki
Tatsuaki Kurosaki, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
MC 3-8507
Phone: (585) 273-3357
tatsuaki_kurosaki@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: mRNA quality control (or mRNA surveillance) in human cells, fragile X syndrome
Maximilian Popp
Maximilian Popp, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
MC 3-8511
Phone: (585) 273-3357
max_popp@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: mRNA metabolism in mammalian cells

Postdoctoral Scholars

Elizabeth Abshire
Elizabeth Abshire, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
elizabeth_abshire@urmc.rochester.edu
Hana Cho
Hana Cho, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
hana_cho@urmc.rochester.edu
Jin Ock Kim
Jin Ock Kim, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Jinock_kim@urmc.rochester.edu
Rina Nagao
Rina Nagao, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
rina_nagao@urmc.rochester.edu
Xavier Rambout
Xavier Rambout, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Associate
xavier_rambout@urmc.rochester.edu

Research Staff

Alexander Hewko
Alexander Hewko
Laboratory Technician III
MC 3-8507
Phone: (585) 275-2755
alexander_hewko@urmc.rochester.edu
Elizabeth (Liz) Leverenz
Elizabeth (Liz) Leverenz
Assistant to Lynne Maquat
MC 3-8529
Phone: (585) 275-3743
elizabeth_leverenz@urmc.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Shuhei Mitsutomi
Shuhei Mitsutomi, M.S.
Visiting Graduate Student
Research Interest: Visiting Graduate Student from the lab of Nobuyoshi Akimitsu, PhD, University of Tokyo, Bunkyō, Japan

Research Assistants

Valeria Guerra
Valeria Guerra
Undergraduate Lab Aide
Tram Nguyen
Tram Nguyen
Undergraduate Lab Aide

Lia

Photo of Lia

Lab Lab

Photo of Lia at 15 months

15 months