Skip to main content
Explore URMC
Strong Memorial Hospital / Friends of Strong / Volunteering / Volunteer Recognition Awards

Volunteer Recognition Awards

Hettie Shumway Award - Frona Rossman

The Hettie Shumway Award is given to a volunteer who provides significant and unfailing service, is an effective role model for other volunteers and demonstrates loyalty to the hospital. It is named for Hettie Shumway, a leadership volunteer who served for many years at Strong Memorial Hospital. This year’s recipient is Frona Rossman.


Elizabeth Crozier Award - Betty McClenney & Kay Prey

The Elizabeth Crozier Award is presented in recognition of outstanding, long-term service to Friends of Strong and Strong Memorial Hospital. It is named in memory of Elizabeth (Bess) Crozier who was an employee at Strong and a volunteer for many years. This year’s recipients are Betty McClenney and Kay Prey.


Louise Criticos Award - Michael Volpe

The recipient of the Louise Criticos Award, formerly the PFCC Award, is Michael Volpe. This honor acknowledges an FOS volunteer that successfully meets the highest and most consistent level of service in order to accomplish the Hospital's goal of Patient- and Family–Centered Care.


Supervisor Award - Laura Hepburn

The Volunteer Supervisor Award is presented to a Strong Memorial Hospital (SMH) staff member who has supervised volunteers for at least 2 years. This person is selected for his/her exceptional skills in training, recognizing and including volunteers as a member of the “team.” This individual will have an excellent volunteer program, which benefits patients and their families at SMH. This year’s recipient is Laura Hepburn.


Dove Award - Jack & Linda Wagner

The Dove Award recipient is chosen from names submitted by volunteers and supervisors of volunteers. A committee made up of volunteers reviews the submissions and chooses a winner. In order to receive this award, the individual selected must have been volunteering for at least 3 years. Recipients traditionally perform quietly, unobtrusive and often “go the extra mile.” This year’s recipients Jack and Linda Wagner.


Evening/Weekend Award - Lisa Kemak

The Evening/Weekend award is to presented in recognition of outstanding service to Friends of Strong and Strong Memorial Hospital in the evening and/or weekends. Our evening/weekend volunteers frequently have full-time jobs, so they have to really want to dedicate a few hours a week to volunteer. This year’s award recipient is Lisa Kemak.