Skip to main content

Our Team

The Acute Care Surgery Division includes 7 fulltime Trauma/Critical Care, Fellowship-trained, attending surgeons. Our surgeons have a dedicated interest in trauma management, pre-hospital system development, comprehensive bum care, surgical critical care, and management of post-injury organ dysfunction.

Nicholas Bedrin, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Surgery

Derek Bell, M.D.

Director, Kessler Burn Center
Assistant Professor of Surgery

Julius D. Cheng, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S

Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics

Mark L. Gestring, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Medical Director, Kessler Trauma Center
Professor of Surgery, Emergency
Medicine and Pediatrics
Chief, Division of Acute Care Surgery

Michael John Nabozny, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Acute Care Surgery

Yanjie Qi, M.D.

Associate Professor of Surgery
General Surgery Residency Director

Katherine M. Reira, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Surgery

Nicole A. Stassen, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics
Director, Kessler Family ICU
Program Director

Michael A. Vella, M.D., M.B.A.

Assistant Professor of Surgery