Skip to main content

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Visitor Restrictions, Resources, and Updates

Explore URMC
menu
URMC / Labs / Thornton Lab / Lab Members
 

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Charles Thornton
Research Interest: Myotonic dystrophy, repeat expansion diseases, and therapeutic development for neuromuscular disorders.

Faculty

Zhenzhi Tang
Research Interest: Uses traditional transgenic and novel genetic engineering techniques to generate mouse models of DM. These models aid in our understanding of expanded repeat toxicity and serve as valuable tools for testing potential therapeutics.

Research Staff

Kirti Bhatt
Kirti Bhatt
Technical Associate
kirti_bhatt@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Focuses largely on processing tissue from human muscle biopsies. Deals with extracting RNA and cDNA and treating it so that it is of the utmost integrity and purity so that data produced can be compared and tested to learn more about DM1.
Sarah Leistman
Sarah Leistman
Lab Technician
sarah_leistman@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Performs the majority of genotyping of the 40+ transgenic lines of mice in the Thornton lab, determines breeding strategies, and attends to colony maintenance of these lines.
Linda Richardson
Linda Richardson
Laboratory Manager
linda_richardson@urmc.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Oversees general day to day functioning of lab and general contact. Responsible for husbandry and colony maintenance of 40+ lines of transgenic mice used as therapeutic models of neuromuscular diseases.
Ryan Wise
Ryan Wise
Physician Support Specialist
Phone: (585) 275-2542
ryan_wise@urmc.rochester.edu

Graduate Students

Matthew Tanner
Research Interest: mRNA splicing is a marker of molecular pathology and disease severity in myotonic muscular dystrophy

Research Assistants

Byron Arevalo
Byron Arevalo
Undergraduate Student
barevalo@u.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Currently an undergraduate majoring in Neuroscience working in the lab. Byron’s lab duties consist of running electrophoresis gels, doing PCRs and assisting Dr. Tang with his projects.
Julianna Savitz
Julianna Savitz
Undergraduate Student
jsavitz@u.rochester.edu
Research Interest: Currently an undergraduate majoring in Environmental Health working in the lab. Julianna works closely with technicians in the lab with DNA extraction and genotyping.