Welcome to Emergency Medicine

Message from our Chair, Dr. Michael Kamali Dr. Kamali

There has never been a time like now in our Department of Emergency Medicine. The combination of compassionate clinical care, residency education, and clinical and translational research is thriving at the University of Rochester. As a member of the Strong Community for the past 10 years, I have witnessed an explosion of talent merging with state of the art science and world class patient care at our institution.

Michael Kamali, MD, FACEP
Chair, Emergency Medicine
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY 14642
Administrative Contact: 585-463-2942
Fax 585-473-3516


More Information

Contact Us



Introducing our 2014-2015 Chief Residents

Dr. David Adler was named one of the Journal of Emergency Medicines outstanding reviewers for 2013.

Dr. Tim Wiegand was elected to New York Society of Addiction Medicine (NYSAM) Board of Directors and Chair of Communications Committee for 2014 - 2015.

Dr. Shahram Ahari
, PGY1, has been awarded New York ACEP’s Resident Leadership and Advocacy Award.

Dr. Erik Rueckmann was awarded the Keith Miner Ford Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award is presented annually by the graduating University of Rochester School of Medicine Class to a member of the University's faculty.